Skip to main content AUB

Using the Library

Returns

Items can now be returned to the Library including Inter Library Loans. We currently have just under 4800 items on loan so we need to manage how things are returned initially so that we can maintain social distancing. 

Booking a return slot

You will need to book an appointment to return your items. Click here for the online booking form. If you wish to borrow and return items at  the same time please book a collection slot rather than a returns slot. There is an option in that booking form to include a return slot. For more information about collection slots look at the borrowing section below. 

Please note we may ask to see your booking when you come into the Library (on your phone from a distance is fine). We ask you to turn up on time for your appointment to help us manage the number of people in the Library and keep everyone safe. 

it is a University requirement for you to wear a face covering in the Library unless you are exempt. Click here for Government guidance on face coverings. 

Quarantine for books and DVDs

All items being returned to the Library will be quarantined for 72 hours before Library staff will remove them from your Library account. This is based on Public Health England advice and will ensure that there is no trace of the Coronovirus on the books and DVDs before we start handling them. The Library system has been changed to account for this and you will not be charged any fines for these days. 

We have a set of tables for each day and will cover them over with a coloured table cloth so that Library staff know which books can be returned and placed back on the shelves. Please follow any signage in this area and don't be tempted to pick up other returned items. If you see something interesting you can take a photo and place a hold for it on the Library catalogue. 

 

Borrowing - Click & Collect

We will be offering a click and collect service for book and DVD loans. Collection of items will be by appointment and you will need to allow 24 hours between the request and collection to allow us time to get items ready for you. There will be the option to book a combined slot to collect and return items at the same time. Each appointment will be for 10 minutes and we ask you to turn up on time. Please note that if a book is on loan to another user you will need to wait until the item is returned. 

  • Search for the item you want to borrow on the Library catalogue.
  • Place a hold on that item.
  • You will then get an e-mail from the Library (please note this may take up to 20 minutes). This will include a link to book an appointment for collection and guidance on the process. You will get an e-mail for every hold you place but you only need to book one collection time e.g. if you place a hold on 4 books and a DVD you will get 5 e-mails. Follow the link in one of these e-mails to book a collection time. 
  • If you are hard of hearing and / or lip read please let us know when you make the booking and we will make adjustments. There is a box towards the end of the booking form which you can use to add this information. 
  • Wait for confirmation of your collection appointment from the Library. This may contain additional information about the items you requested for example, some of the books you have requested may be on loan or one of the books is very large. 
  • There are two collection points in the Library, You will need to go to your collection point and show your AUB ID card and we will issue the books to you. We have a screen in place at the collection points to protect Library staff. We also have floor markings so that you can see where you need to stand when you collect an item. 
  • Any problems e-mail library@aub.ac.uk  

Loan periods

All loan items will be issued for 3 weeks. We have temporarily changed all one week loans to a 3 week loans this includes DVDs. When you return items they will be quarantined for 72 hours before they are removed from your record. If an item shows as overdue during the quarantine don't worry you won't be charged a fine for this period. You do not need to return items early to allow for this. 

Reference items

Reference items including books and journals can't currently be borrowed. This is under review. 

E-books

We have a large collection of e-books which supplement our print collections. We have been purchasing a large number of e-books during lockdown and we are working with tutors to provide access to items on your reading list in a digital format. You can search for e-books using the Library catalogue or to explore our collections click here

How much can I borrow?

Prep-HE and Undergraduate students 12 items plus a laptop, maximum of 4 DVDs/ Blu-ray 
Postgraduate students 25 items including a laptop, maximum of 4 DVDs/ Blu-ray 
Short course student 4 standard loan books
External member 3 standard loan books

How long can I borrow it for?

We have changed loan lengths temporarily whilst we need to operate the click and collect service. 

Standard loan  3 weeks
1 week loan (blue stripe) 3 weeks
DVD / Blu-ray / CD 3 weeks
Laptop 1 day
Reference (yellow stripe) Library use only

Holds

If an item you want to borrow is out on loan, you can place a hold (reserve it) using the Library catalogue. Check the catalogue record for the item to see when it is due for return and if other people have reserved it already. This will give you an idea of when you will be able to borrow it. You may also want to check if we have a digital copy available: e-book or streamed video. You can check on the Library catalogue but select search plus rather than library search from the drop down menu. For films search Box of Broadcasts or Kanopy.  

We will e-mail you when it is available for you to borrow. You will need to book a collection slot following the link included in the e-mail. You can also login to your account on the Library catalogue to see whether it is available yet but you will not be able to book a collection slot from this screen. 

If you have any overdue items or fines you will be able to reserve an item or collect for now.  

Items need to be collected within 14 days.  After that time they will be reshelved or offered to the next person who has placed a hold. 

Holds are not available for short course students or external members. 

I need it for longer, can I renew it?

Items on loan during lock down will have a return date of the 2nd October. Currently if you renew this may mean you need to bring back the item sooner. Please contact us if you have any queries library@aub.ac.uk 

You can renew most items, however if another user has placed a hold on the item or you have overdue items or fines then you won't be able to renew. We have a maximum numbers of renewals to ensure other users can access an item. 

Standard loan  3 renewals Maximum loan 12 weeks
1 week loan (blue stripe) 1 renewal Maximum loan 6 weeks
DVD/ Blu-ray/ CD 1 renewal Maximum loan 6 weeks
Laptop 1 day No renewals, but you can borrow another Laptop if one is available. 
Reference (yellow stripe) Library use only
Short course students and External members 1 renewal Maximum loan 6 weeks

Late returns

All loans were extended during Lockdown so no fines have been added whilst we were closed. Some fines are still in place from books you may have borrowed before this. 

At the moment you can borrow and place a hold with a fine but we will reinstate fines later on this term for items that are returned late. If you need to self isolate or cannot come to the Library to return books as a direct result of COVID-19 please

e-mail us library@aub.ac.uk (You will also need to let the University know if you need to self isolate by e-mailing covid@aub.ac.uk)

Items will need to be quarantined for 72 hours on return. you do not need to return items early and you won't be charged a fine for this time, although it may appear on your Library account (this will be waived manually by staff if necessary). 

We ask you to remember when your item is due for return and we help you to do this in a number of ways: 

  • Log in to your record on the Library catalogue https://libsearch.aub.ac.uk/ (top right) and check when your items are due for return or renew from here. You can download an ical file to sync with your calendar if you have an Apple device. 
  • Check with us via e-mail library@aub.ac.uk 
  • We send you an e-mail reminder to your AUB e-mail account 3 days before an item is due and on the day it is due for return. The Library takes no responsibility for the non-receipt of e-mails or letters regarding overdue items: it is your responsibility to return items on time. 

If items are returned late we will send you a number of reminder e-mails, text messages and letters. Later this term you will not be able to borrow new items from the Library if you have overdue items. This is to avoid you getting additional fines and because Library items will be needed by other users. 

 

7 days  e-mail 
14 days  e-mail 
28 days  Text
35 days  A letter sent to your address (term or home depending on the time of year)
42 days

A bill is sent to you for replacement of unreturned items and the fines. If you return the items within a week you will

not need to  pay for the replacement of the items. 

Fines

For details about changes in place at the moment please read the section above about late returns. 

The Library charges fines for the late return of items. Fines are incurred for overdue items on all days the Library is open. Fines need to be paid before any items can be borrowed or renewed. If you have a problem with an overdue item please contact the Library at the counter, by e-mail library@aub.ac.uk or phone 01202 363256

If you have mitigating circumstances we will ask your tutor to confirm the dates affected, we do not need to know why you have mitigating circumstances. 

Standard loans 30p per day
One week loans 50p per day
DVD/ Blu-ray and CD 50p per day
Laptops £5 per hour, maximum fine £20

Lost or damaged items

Please take care of the items you borrow from the Library. If an item you are returning is damaged please make a note of it in the box provided when you book a return slot. 

If you damage Library items then you may be asked to pay for a replacement. Library staff will assess the level of damage and decide whether the item needs to be replaced. 

If you loose an item please let us know. We give you 2 weeks to have a good look for it and if it is not found in that time we will then ask you to pay for a replacement copy. The replacement value is calculated when an item is reported missing. Replacement costs may be more than the original price paid by the Library, particularly in the case of rare or valuable items.