Skip to main content AUB

Using the Library

Inter-library loans

If the Library does not have a copy of a book or journal article in print or online, it is usually possible for us to get a copy from another library.

Please make the following checks before requesting an inter-library loan request:

  • Use Library Search and search plus to see if we have it in stock already. 
  • Check Bournemouth University Library catalogue to see if they have it in print. AUB students can access books and print journals at  Bournemouth University Library; see the section below on using local libraries for more information.

You can make inter-library loan requests and check on its progress through your library account.

  • Log in to your account on the Library Search page. Click here to access the website
  • Click on your name at the top of the screen.
  • On the left of the screen click ‘your interlibrary loan requests.’ 

Please check your account regularly. When your request status changes to "Available to collect" you can collect the item at the Library Counter (you will need your University ID card). 

Requests are often available for collection in one week, but they can take up to two weeks depending on the supplier.

The number of items you can request may be limited at the discretion of the Library. 

Please note that we charge a fine of 50p per day for the late return of inter-library loan books. Borrowers will be liable for replacement costs if a book is lost or damaged.

Renewing a book on inter-library loan may be possible, but is at the discretion of the lending library. You should get in touch with us a few days before the item is due for return if you wish to do this so that we can check with the lending library. Questions? Contact ills@aub.ac.uk  or call 01202 363309.

Using Other Libraries / Collections

Bournemouth University Library

We have a mutual agreement with Bournemouth University (BU) which allows full time students and staff at AUB to join BU Library. For part time students and staff you can visit the Library and read items in the Library or you can join the Sconul Access scheme which will allow you to join BU Library. Please see the information below. 

Members can borrow 3 standard loan books. Unfortunately you won't be able to access BU online resources due to publishers' license restrictions. 

To join you will need to go to the Library during staffed opening times (Click here for details). You will need to bring the following items: 

  • 1 passport sized photo
  • AUB University ID card
  • Proof of local address

For more information or to search the catalogue please visit the BU Library website. Click here for details

Local public libraries

Their are two Local Public Library Authorities

Both provide access to a wide range of books, eBooks, magazines and audiobooks as well as books in a range of foreign languages. If we don't have something in stock or if it is on loan, it is worth checking the public library to see if you can access it there. Please see the links above to search their catalogues, find joining instructions and locate the libraries. 

Bournemouth Library in the Triangle area of central Bournemouth has a specialist music library with musical scores, CDs, online music and books on music. Click here for more information. 

Local history centres

Poole History Centre focuses on local history, maritime history, trade and industry and transport in the local area. The collection includes maps, newspapers, books, oral histories and photographs. It is located in an historical wool warehouse originally built in 1300 and is part of the Poole Museum just off the Quay. Click here for more information

Bournemouth Heritage Zone focuses on local history, it is located in the library in the Triangle. Click here for more information

Dorset History Centre holds a large local history collection and the archives for Dorset including Bournemouth, Poole and Christchurch. Highlights of the archive include material on Poole pottery, Dorset authors and poets and the Cooper Dean Estates archive, which includes the development of Bournemouth. The History Centre is in Dorchester. Click here for more information. 

SCONUL Access is a reciprocal scheme covering many university libraries in the UK and Ireland. It allows university library users to either access or borrow books and journals at libraries that belong to the scheme. 

To join and read more about the scheme visit the SCONUL website by clicking this link

The scheme allows different types of users different levels of access to library services and this will vary depending on the individual library you wish to access. It is best to check the library website before you travel and plan ahead in case you need to bring particular documentation with you or you need to e-mail in advance. 

  • Staff, PhD and MA students will be able to borrow from the majority of member libraries. 
  • BA students will usually be able to use library resources in the library but won't be able to borrow. 
  • Prep-HE, Short Course students and External members are not eligible for this scheme but may be able to use other university libraries as members of the public. 

If you are working in a SCONUL library you will usually be able to use wifi using Eduroam. For more information about this please pick up a leaflet from the Digital Services Servicedesk on the ground floor of the Library. 

If you are studying at another university and would like to know about joining AUB Library as a SCONUL Access member please click on this link

The Library cannot request film or sound material from other libraries due to copyright restrictions. The Library subscribes to a wide variety of online film and audio content click here to access this. A few of these resources can't be included in Search Plus for technical reasons so they need to be searched separately. Your Subject Librarian can help you either with search terms or locating particular material.

If you have tried searching on Library Search and it isn't available we may be able to purchase a film to add it to our collections. However some material isn't available commercially in the UK or through educational subscription services. You may be able to access film or audio by contacting a specialist service who can arrange for you to have access to it for a limited period online or can arrange for you to view it in their library / facility. 

Lux artist's film collection is available for viewing by appointment either online or in London.

BFI National Archive services available for viewing by appointment.