Library Search: Collections: Sound & Vision

Sound Resources

Accent CDs
A selected range of recordings of UK, regional and international accents on CD.

British Library Sounds - *Temporarily down due to security attack* This link opens in a new window
British Library Sounds has 50,000 recordings. The collections include: ICA talks, Carribean poetry, Public debates, UK regional dialects, Sound effects, Oral history of branding and design, fashion etc. Full of amazing things to explore and get lost in.

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
BoB records radio Broadcasts from BBC Radio 4 and allows you to select items to record from other BBC radio channels and Talksport. These are kept in a permanent archive for you to be able to listen to when needed. When searching BoB use the 'Search options' e.g. to search 'Title only' or 'Radio only'.

BBC Sound Effects

Streaming Media, DVDs and Blu-ray

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Kanopy work directly with filmmakers and distributors to offer a wide selection of films. Includes: Oscar winners, Independent films, short films, profiles of artists and designers and documentaries on a wide range of subjects. In High definition.
Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Films, Television and Radio programmes recorded from UK free to air TV and Radio channels. The archive includes more than 1 million programmes which are kept indefinately. When searching BoB, use the 'Search options' e.g. to search 'Title only' and 'TV only'.
Stan Winston School of Character Arts This link opens in a new window
Practical tutorials looking at a wide range of skills including sculpting, character design, make-up effects, puppet making, prosthetics etc. Please e-mail library@aub.ac.uk from your AUB e-mail address to request the passwords to access this.
Art21 This link opens in a new window
Art21 maintains an extensive library of all of the films and educational materials it produces. The core of the Art21 Library is nearly one thousand hours of original documentary footage amassed during the production of Art21’s films. The filmed material in the Art21 Library is supplemented with transcribed interviews, research materials, educational publications, Web pages, books, and digital and analog artwork reproductions.
British Pathe This link opens in a new window
British Pathe is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world. Its collection of over 85,000 films spans from 1896 to 1976. The collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Digital Theatre Plus captures the moments before the curtain rises and after the curtain falls, providing valuable insight into the play making process. It shares the hidden drama of the weeks, days, and hours before lights up on stage. By revealing the world of the rehearsal room, dressing room, backstage and beyond, its documentaries and interviews introduce theatre as a vibrant, exciting art form through a familiar and accessible medium. When accessing off-campus, enter your AUB email address and password as usual and then click 'Sign In'.
Hairdressing Training This link opens in a new window
Helping to develop skills, Hairdressing Training provides exemplary step-by-step guidance videos from JISC, relating to hairdressing styles and techniques. Click on the comment section to discover all the guides.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning offers training videos that cover a wide range of software, business and creative skills, from 3D animation to web development. Content is added on a weekly basis so that the videos covering the latest version of the software are available. You can choose to watch short videos to provide a quick solution or follow an entire course. There are currently over 1,500 courses and over 85,000 individual tutorials. Tutorials are presented by top professionals with an ability to share their knowledge and industry experience.
Pidgeon Digital This link opens in a new window
Online collection of illustrated talks by architects and related designers. Begun in 1979, speakers range from those working in the first half of the 20th century to contemporary practitioner and cover topics such as theory, history and practice and provide a unique library of contemporary attitudes to architecture.
Stash Media This link opens in a new window
Stash Media showcases motion design, visual effects, and animation projects, and the people who create them. The site contains over 5,000 design, animation, and VFX projects including TV and cinema advertising, title and broadcast designs, music videos, brand films, game trailers and cinematics, short films, behind the scenes features and exclusive interviews. Access on-campus only. Click on LOGIN and then LOGIN for full access.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 250 twentieth century theatre productions on streaming video, as well as documentaries and interviews with artists, writers, designers and directors. Also included is access to the BBC Shakespeare collection.
Theatre Performance and Design Collection This link opens in a new window
The first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theatre from production and design to performance, from the 17th century through to the present day, including, set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, makeup, and more. Includes full video performances from the National Theatre, BroadwayHD and the Royal Shakespeare Company.
Physical Actor Training: an online A-Z This link opens in a new window
PATAZ: Physical Actor Training: an online A-Z contains over 60 dynamic videos with accompanying audio commentary, reflection, and texts for today’s physical actor, teacher, and trainer. It prioritizes movement, voice, and the body rather than character or text-based approaches to making performance and preparing the actor.

The Library collects films on DVD and Blu-ray if a streaming video is not available for educational use.

We collect: Art house and mainstream films, animation, experimental films, artist's films, documentary, students showreels (last 5 years), dance, short films, theatre productions or adaptations and TV series (sample series).

Search for DVDs and Blu-ray by director, genre or specific film title using the search below.

Narrow the search by selecting Locations > DVD Bay to the left of your results.

Viewing Facilities

If you don't have a way of playing a DVD or Blu-ray we have a bookable student meeting room on the ground floor which can be used for viewing. Facilities include:

Large screen Freeview TV
Blu-ray player
DVD and VHS player
HDMI ports for connecting a computer (please put cables back into the ports if you unplug them).

Please book at the Library counter. The room can be booked for a maximum of 3 hours.

Blu-rays and DVDs can be found in the centre of the library on the ground floor, organised in numerical sequence.

If you cannot find what you are looking for, check Box of Broadcasts or Kanopy or ask a member of staff.

646	Fashion & Costume
700.7	Student show reels
709	Art History / Theory
709.2	Artist profiles
720	Architecture
741.6	Graphic Arts and Illustration
745	Design
746	Textiles
747	Interior Design
770	Photography
780	Music Documentary
791.43	Feature Films
791.434	Animation
791.43601	Experimental
791.43655	Documentary
791.4375	Short Films
791.45	TV Series
792	Theatre
793	Dance
822	Shakespeare