Library Search: Collections: Books & eBooks

Book Collections

The Library buys both print and eBooks to support the curriculum and research at the University. We aim to provide a balanced collection with a broad range of books on arts, design, media and performance. We supplement this with books on complimentary subjects such as cultural studies, history, science and anatomy, study skills etc. This allows you to read widely and explore different view points.

Reading List Books

Reading list books need to be read by a large number of students and we aim to ensure equal access to these resources either with an eBook or with scanned chapters made available through course blogs. With popular titles we will also provide a reference copy of the title, so that you can come and read the print book in the Library.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of over 100,000 e-books which covers a wide range of subjects including anthropology, art and design, cultural studies, drama, history, music, philosophy, psychology, religion and technology.
VLeBooks This link opens in a new window
A selection of eBooks purchased by AUB Library.
eBook Education Collection This link opens in a new window
The eBook Education Collection provides titles ranging from introductory texts on education theory and practice for undergraduates to more complex and detailed works for advanced students and scholars in the Education discipline. Also included are support materials for student teachers and professionals working in primary and higher education classrooms, covering topics from curriculum building to student behaviour and dynamics.
Art and Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art and Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Providing over 750 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,000 images, it is designed for use by a diverse audience, including art scholars, artists, designers, students and general researchers.
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
In addition to providing access to over 100 books on various aspects of fashion, the Berg Fashion Library contains the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, Classic and Modern Writings on Fashion, an A-Z of Fashion and The Dictionary of Fashion History, listings of dress collections in museums around the world, images from historic exhibitions from museums around the world, and a collection of over 15,000 images.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is a comprehensive resource offering instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.
Critical Studies & Performance Practice This link opens in a new window
This collection features over 400 academic books from the prestigious Methuen Drama and The Arden Shakespeare imprints. Together they offer invaluable critical, contextual and pedagogic content from leading voices in theatre, performance and Shakespeare studies. The collection also includes 60 actor training videos through PATAZ: Physical Actor Training - an online A-Z.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Fairchild Books Library This link opens in a new window
Fairchild Books Library provides access to a collection of 130 digital textbooks covering a full spectrum of topics in fashion including construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more.

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference books which focuses on literature and history, with smaller collections in the areas of drama, business, science and religion.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Access to over 200 dictionaries and reference e-books published by Oxford University Press, including the Oxford Dictionary of English. Click on 'Show books in my subscription' to view titles which have full-text access.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive searchable reference resource covering all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to date. The dictionary contains 41,000 articles written by leading scholars and experts in each subject. Articles provide links to maps and diagrams as well as over 100,000 searchable images from the Bridgeman Art Library Online, all supported by extensive bibliographies.

Finding Books & eBooks

eBooks
Print Books

Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search the Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read.

To find a book in the Library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.