Costume & Performance Design: Journals & Databases

Information sources that have been written by academics, experts or creative practitioners in a particular field or discipline, and published in books, conference publications and academic journal articles, can usually be considered scholarly.

They may report on original research, review books, films or productions, address current issues in the media, or examine events through the lenses of history and theory. They are your best source of information about topics such as fashion and dress history, film and cinematography, theatre productions and techniques and the role of costume design on stage and screen.

Use Google Scholar to search for journal articles across and beyond AUB Library's holdings.

The recommended journals above are just a selection of the many journal publications you can access. Search the Full Text Finder to view more individual journals by title.

To start searching generally for articles on a topic, use Search Plus, which will search across the Library's eJournals, eBooks and databases:

The Library has a physical Materials Library, located on the ground floor (click here to find out more about the Materials Library), and online database resources useful in the study of materials:

• EduSeries by The Sustainable Angle
  Tools and resources about the significant environmental impacts of materials, the commercially-available sustainable material alternatives and emerging innovations. Contact the Library for the password to this resource. 
• Theatre Green Book
  Free resource on UK theatres, bringing together theatre-makers and sustainability experts to create a common standard for making theatre sustainably.
• Material ConneXion
  Database of physical materials as well as processes. It includes more than 10,000 innovative materials in various categories for architecture, design, and textiles. Find out how to register for this database on the Materials Library page.

The databases below are all useful for finding scholarly information about film, theatre, dress history and more. A full list of can be found on the A-Z Databases page.