Home Introduction to support in the Library and how to find books and eBooks.
Journals & Databases Information about recommended academic journals and databases.
Dress History Research Archival databases and more that will help you to research dress history.
Film Research Material for researching film, including news sources and streamable media.
Theatre Research Theatre research sources, production reviews and costume collections.
Sustainability Resources Databases and tools for the study of sustainable fashion and textiles.
Access your course reading lists online:
Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Costume and Performance Design
The dress diary of Mrs Anne Sykes: secrets from a Victorian woman's wardrobe
Westernwear : postwar American fashion and culture
Gothic fashion : the history from barbarians to haute couture
Cosplay : the fictional mode of existence
The royal wardrobe : a very fashionable history of the monarchy
The Costume Designer's Toolkit : The Process of Creating Effective Design
Fat fashion : the thin ideal and the segregation of plus-size bodies
Madly marvelous : the costumes of The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel
Deco dandy : designing masculinity in 1920s Paris
Shaping femininity : foundation garments, the body and women in early modern England
Clothing goes to war : creativity inspired by scarcity in World War II
Reading Fashion in Art
The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online.
To find a book in the Library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.
Keyword Title Author Subject ISBN Series Call Number
Click here to browse the newest print books in the Costume collection.
Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read.
eBooks are also available through databases, which you can search separately:
When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.
Your Subject Librarian can help with:
Conducting research and finding high-quality sources
Using information resources and search tools effectively
Referencing, from in-text citations to your bibliography
