Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AUB

Teaching Support: Collection Development

Collection Development Policy

The Collection Development Policy, approved at LTQ, sets out the principles according to which the Library Service acquires, maintains, stores and makes accessible the collections it holds. It applies to material in all formats. 

The Collection Development Policy can be viewed here: 

Course Validation & Review

Subject Librarians can recommend resources for course units which are new or under review. They can also review reading lists for formatting, layout and content. Sufficient notice must be given to allow this to happen by a deadline.

Digital access is preferred for reading list items, through eBooks, online journal content and digitised course readings, wherever possible. 

Books & eBooks

Books & eBooks
Subject Librarians consult course teams about what resources they need from the Library budget. Course Leaders can choose whether they want course staff to ask their Subject Librarian directly to order books they require, or whether to put them all through via the Course Leader. This can be done via the Staff Purchase Request Form.

Subject Librarians will also order print and eBooks that, in their professional judgement, will give balance to that subject area and fill in gaps in the collection. These may or may not be of direct relevance to the units currently on offer but will be chosen to ensure the collection as a whole remains relevant and current. Books will be ordered as eBooks whenever possible and appropriate, to meet the needs of access and managing the physical library space. 

Books ordered will be supplied by our main supplier. In exceptional circumstances (e.g. out-of-print titles), books may be ordered from suppliers such as Amazon or specialist publishers. This is not a process which should be used to alleviate late ordering of books for imminent units. Course staff need to consider their book requirements in good time so that books can be ordered through normal channels.

Patron-Driven Acquisition (PDA)
Each year we put some of the book budget aside and upload several thousand eBooks in the areas of art, design, media and performance to our Library catalogue. If two people or more users access the eBook, this triggers a purchase. The purchases come out of the money put aside for them and we are notified when we have spent it. We have the option to increase the budget allocated to this system or re-invest it the following year if there is a surplus.

Journals & Magazines

Journals and Magazines
Periodicals are ordered through a central Library budget. Requests for new titles go into the next budget bid unless a case is made, and accepted, for subscribing earlier, and funds can be found to do so. This will usually be through cancelling and replacing an existing subscription which is no longer required. Electronic subscriptions are regularly reviewed and assessed by usage and currency. Course teams are encouraged to regularly review existing journal titles for their course to see if there are any that are no longer required.

Film & Video Content

DVDs
DVDs are purchased from a central Library budget. Requests should be made to your Subject Librarian. DVDs will also be chosen by Subject Librarians to develop the collection and maintain its relevance and currency. Where films are available on Box of Broadcasts or Kanopy, DVDs will not normally be purchased. 

Off-Air Recordings
These are provided through the Box of Broadcasts (BoB) database which automatically records programming from over 60 television and radio channels. In the rare instance that a
programme is unavailable, this can be requested via BoB. BoB can only be accessed by students in the UK.

undefinedVideo Database Content
A wide selection of film, television, and radio recordings, theatre and dance productions and training videos are available to be streamed online via the Library's various databases. These can also be used in teaching and added to readings lists. Browse the full selection of streamable media available in the Library on this page:  Sound & Vision