Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AUB

Research Support: Research Support Resources

Library Support for Research

Research is a process of investigation leading to new knowledge and insights effectively shared through practice, theory and AUB’s maker culture. The Library are here to support you with finding, accessing and tracking information in your research process.

For suggested databases and journals for researching specific subject areas, please see the relevant Subject Guide

You can contact your Subject Librarian if you have any queries.

Full Database List

The full list of all databases and resources available in AUB Library can be viewed here:

A-Z Databases

You can filter databases relevant to your area of study. You can also browse databases according to the types of material they provide access to, and select the ones best suited to your research. 

Finding Journal Articles

AUB subscribes to journals across all subject areas. Most of these are available online only. 

Search the Full Text Finder to find individual journal titles, including subject-specific journal listings.

To start searching generally for articles on a topic, use Search Plus, which will search across the Library's eJournals, eBooks and databases:

Search Plus
 

Selected Journal Databases

Art and Architecture Source
Full-text journal database, covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. 

Arts & Humanities Database
Full-text journal database useful for interdisciplinarity study in the arts and humanities: design, crafts, photography, architecture, interior design, theatre, film and cultural studies. Also covers selected titles from related fields, such as ethnic studies, politics, economics and women's studies.

JSTOR
Full-text archives of more than 2,000 academic journals, along with thousands of books and other materials relevant for research.

ARTbibliographies Modern
Does not provide full-text articles. Provides abstracts of scholarly content across the subjects of photography, performance art and installation works, video art, body art, graffiti, artist's books, theatre arts, crafts, fashion, calligraphy, illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture and drawing.

Education Source
Full-text journal database covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes educational specialities such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Design and Applied Arts Index
Does not provide full-text articles. Collection of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles published in design and applied arts journals. It covers disciplines such as graphic design, fashion and textiles, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, animation, product design, and landscape architecture.

Project Muse
Full text journal database, covering the humanities and social sciences, film, theatre and the performing arts, cultural studies, history and philosophy.

GreenFILE
The database provides indexing and abstracts, as well as some Open Access full text articles. Includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. 

Keeping Up-to-Date

Setting up some current awareness tools will help you to track newly published articles and find out what is happening in your research area. Most databases and journals use e-mail alerts to inform users of new content. Many databases also use RSS feeds to deliver alerts. A choice of alerts are available:

Saved Search Alerts 
A saved search alert will notify you when the database identifies new articles related to a customized search. 


Citation alerts
When your saved citation is cited by another article, you will receive the citation of the new article by email.


Table of Contents (TOC) Alerts
These alerts inform users about new journal issues. Use these databases to set up TOC Alerts: