Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Research in Other Collections
Your research is not limited to the holdings at AUB. We can facilitate access to other academic libraries and institutions, and source material from other library collections for your research.
There are also many resources, search engines and tools to help you find research that has been made freely available online, including repositories for scholarly literature and databases for doctoral theses and dissertations.
If the Library does not hold, or provide access to, a book, journal article or other document you need for your research, it is usually possible to get a copy from another library.
For more information, and details on how to make a request, see our guide to inter-library loans.
Using Other Libraries
Access to other libraries may be disrupted due to the ongoing Covid-19 pandemic. Always contact the library you wish to visit before traveling.
Other University Libraries
AUB staff are permitted to use the libraries of other universities and institutions, often with borrowing privileges, under the terms of the SCONUL Access Scheme.
Bournemouth University Library
AUB have a reciprocal arrangement with Bournemouth University , that permits full-time staff and students to use BU Library for reference purposes, and also to join for limited borrowing rights. This does not include access to electronic resources or eBooks. See their website here for further details on how to join .
The British Library ca n be used to consult items from their collections and access a range of online resources only available onsite. Access is free, but you must first register for a Reader's Pass, details here. You may also have to order items in advance of your visit; read more about this on their website.
National Art Library at the V&A
The NAL is open to all and admission is free. To request items to view in the Library, you will first need to join the Library by creating a user account. This can be done in advance online or during your visit. More information is available on their website.
Research produced at other universities and institutions around the world is often archived in their institutional repository, where it can be searched and is often made available.
You can browse our repository to read some of the research undertaken by AUB academic staff.
COnnecting REpositories (CORE)
Search across all open access content distributed across institutional repositories and open access journals
JISC Archives Hub
Search across descriptions of archives, held at over 350 institutions across the UK, as an effective way to discover unique and often little-known sources to support your research.
Directory of Open Access Repositories, a global directory of OA repositories and their policies.
Registry of Open Access Repositories (ROAR)
Searchable international database indexing the creation, location and growth of open access institutional repositories and their contents.
UAL Research Online
Online repository of the research produced at University of the Arts London.
Sources for Open Access Research
Open access refers to the practice of making scholarly research freely available online. The tools below can help you search for and retrieve available open access content.
Use Google Scholar to search for journal articles across and beyond AUB Library's holdings, and retrieve open access versions of articles.
Access the Library Links setting to add links to full-text articles from AUB Library holdings, where available, to your results.
Scholar can also be used as a basic citation analysis tool, allowing you to track citations to publications and expand your research. Click 'Cited by...' underneath each search result to explore, or create an account to track Google Scholar Citations.