Modelmaking: Materials & Design Research

In addition to the Materials Library collection, we also provide access to a number of databases and journals that support the study of innovative materials and product design, covering topics including sustainability, biophilic design, design solutions, and more.

International Journal of Design​

Peer-reviewed, open-access journal devoted to publishing research papers in all fields of design.

New Design

Covers the products, innovations and processes of design. Features issues such as sustainability, branding, intellectual property, materials, inclusive design and ergonomics.

AUB Materials Library

Located in the library, the AUB Materials Library is a collection of product samples such as ceramics, plastics, glass, paper, metal, timber, and much more. Students are welcome to explore and handle the collection at any time.

Users can also browse the materials online and learn more about them by using the Materials Library catalogue. To log in, click the “Sign in with Microsoft” button and use your AUB login details.

Material ConneXion

The library subscribes to Material ConneXion, a database of materials including detailed profiles, reports on applications and processes, and information about innovations and manufacture. To access, please register for a Material ConneXion account using your AUB email address.

The Stacks

The Stacks contains material deep dives, sustainability webinars, manufacturer highlights, trend reports, and much more, all written by the Material ConneXion research team. To access, please register for a Material ConneXion account using your AUB email address.

Material District 

A free digital materials library specialising in innovative materials and solutions.

Transmaterial

A free database specialising in hi-tech materials and textiles for design.