Modelmaking: Journals & Databases

To find journal and magazines article on a particular topic, you can search on databases, which are like search engines for collections of scholarly resources such as articles, images, and videos.

Below are recommended article databases for modelmaking, and you can find a full list of AUB Library's databases on the A-Z Databases.

Art and Architecture Source

Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative, and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. It offers 461 active full-text art journals and magazines, plus thousands of images.

Arts & Humanities Database

Arts & Humanities Database features over 460 full text scholarly journals covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies. It also has over 550 full books in the same subject areas.

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million full-text journal articles and books across a full range of disciplines. It also provides access to Artstor, a collection of more than 2 million images from museums, archives, scholars, and artists around the world.

Social Science Database

The Social Science Database includes full text scholarly journals providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, social work, and sociology.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database

The Performing Arts Periodicals Database contains the full text of current articles from over 160 journals relating to theatre, film and performing arts.

ProQuest Screen Studies Collection

This collection contains articles from all of the ProQuest film databases (the American Film Institute Catalog, FIAF, and Film Index International).

To make your research easier, you can use Search Plus, which will search across the Library catalogue and our databases in a single search.

There are two types of periodical that you are likely to use: journals and magazines. The Library provides access to both types, in print and online.

Journals:

• Contain research articles by academics.
• Are peer-reviewed for originality and accuracy.
• Will include references to sources used.

Magazines

• Written by journalists for public interest, so not scholarly.
• Aiming to make profit through sales and advertising.
• May contain case studies, interviews, and reviews.

It's important to remember that journals are academic, while magazines are not. You therefore want to be relying more on journals that magazines in your assignments.

The suggested journals and magazines above are just a selection of the many AUB Library provides access to.

You can find a full list of the Library's online journals and magazines through the Publication Finder. You can select "Journals" from the drop-down under the search bar to exclude eBooks and other types of resources.

You can find the latest issues of the Library's print journals and magazines on the Journal Wall to the left of the Library entrance. It is a good idea to browse these regularly to keep up to date with the latest developments in your field.

If you need help finding print items, please ask at the Library counter.

If you come across an article — either in a database or elsewhere — that you can't access, please submit an inter-library loan request through your Library account and we will try to source the article for you. You can find more information about this on the Inter-library loans & Using other libraries page.