Library Search: Modelmaking: Home

On This Guide

Home
Get started searching books and eBooks or get support from your Subject Librarian.

Journals & Databases
Information about recommended academic journals and databases.

Image & Film Research
Magazines, image archives, motion graphics and video content.

Materials & Design Research
Information on the Materials Library collection and supporting databases for the study of material objects and processes.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

BA (Hons) Modelmaking

Symbols

Look for these symbols in the library to find books related to Modelmaking:

Finding Books & eBooks

To find a book in the library, start with the library catalogue. This will search across our print books and some of our eResources. The catalogue record for the book will list the call number, which tells you where to find it on the shelves.

Use Search Plus to search across the library catalogue and eBook databases. You can also access eBooks through individual eBook platforms like those below.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of over 100,000 e-books which covers a wide range of subjects including anthropology, art and design, cultural studies, drama, history, music, philosophy, psychology, religion and technology.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is a comprehensive resource offering instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.

When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.

001.6443	Computer Aided Design
006.696	3D Modelling
600	Technology
621.0228	Model Engineering
629.1	Transport Design
690	Building Construction
709	Art History
720	Architecture
720.86	Architecture Models
731.42	Sculpture Modelling
741.671	Packaging
745.2	Product Design
745.2024	Sustainable Design
745.3	Modelmaking Industrial Design
745.4	Design Aesthetics
745.5	Toy Design
745.501	Craft Theory
749	Furniture
791.43022	Modelmaking Films
791.43025	Film Sets
792.025	Theatre Set Design

Thorp Modelmaking Archive

AUB is the proud custodian of the Thorp Modelmaking Archive, a unique and extensive collection of photographs and documents charting the history of Thorp Modelmakers, the oldest architectural modelmakers in Britain. Find out more information on the Thorp Modelmaking Archive webpage, and see some of the models in the library Reading Room.

Subject Librarian

Corin Peacock

they/them

Email Me

Subjects: Architecture, Design, Fine Art, Interior Architecture and Design, Modelmaking

What does your Subject Librarian Do?

Your Subject Librarian can help with:

Conducting research and finding high-quality sources

Using information resources and search tools effectively

Referencing, from in-text citations to your bibliography

Modelmaking: Home