Library Search: Make-up: Visual Research

Research for Inspiration...

Make-up inspiration is the outcome of creative research, which in turn is an essential part of the design process. The Library can provide you with access to a wide range of image and audiovisual resources, useful for the process of visual research and design inspiration. These will also provide an historical and social context for trends in hair and make-up.

Image Resources

Artstor
Artstor contains over 1.8 million digital images relating to the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. There are copyright cleared for educational use.

DermNet
Dermatology images which are free to use for education purposes within the terms of Dermnet's image licence.
Etre Belle
The 'Coiffure' supplement of French magazine Etre Belle (1930-38) has been made available online by the Bibliotheque nationale de France. Great for contemporary images of hairstyles.
Forensic Medicine for Medical Students
A comprehensive educational resource on forensic medicine and pathology.
Frisierkunst der Mode
The Osterreichische Nationalbibliothek has digitised their collection of Viennese magazine Frisierkunst der Mode (1919-1937). It is a very useful resource for contemporary images of hairstyles.

Getty Images Open Content
Over 100,000 images from Getty which can be searched, downloaded and are free to use (but still require a reference when used).

Hairdressers Journal
Hairdressers Journal gallery of images.
JAAD Skin of Color Image Atlas
A compilation of images by the Journal of the American Academy of Dermatology.
Met Museum
The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York. The Costume Institute fashion plates covering 1700-1955 are particularly useful for period hairstyles.
Mind the Gap
A handbook of clinical signs in black and brown skin.
National Portrait Gallery
The national collection of portraits representing men and women who have contributed to British history and culture. The Reference Collection also includes prints and fashion plates which are useful for period hairstyles.
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
A useful source for medical images of injuries and medical conditions.

Beauty Laid Bare

Beauty Laid Bare (2020) - all three episodes
Three part documentary investigating the environmental effects of packaging and chemicals, recycling and pollution, the ethics of exploitation and lack of H&S in the materials supply chain, counterfeiting, and the rise of cosmetic surgery treatments.

Vogue

The Library provides access to many international editions of Vogue, arguably the world's more prominent fashion publication.

Available online:

Available in print:

Film & Video

The Library has a wide variety of DVDs relating to make-up, including instructional courses, feature films, and fashion-related titles.. You can search and browse these on the Library Catalogue.

The Library also provides access to thousands of films and programmes through a wide range of video streaming services:

Box of Broadcasts
BoB is a permanent archive of over 1 million recorded TV and radio programmes. Available in UK territories only.
When searching BoB, use the 'Search options' e.g. to search the 'Title only' and 'TV only'.

We will create some playlists for specific units but you can find some good hair-related programmes in this BoB Playlist.

Kanopy
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service which includes titles from PBS, the BBC, the Criterion Collection, the Media Education Foundation and more.

Kanopy lists categories for browsing on this page.

British Pathe
A collection of over 85,000 films spanning from 1896 to 1976. The collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.

Make-up: Visual Research

Research for Inspiration...

Image Resources

Recommended Magazines

Beauty Laid Bare

Vogue

Film & Video