Make-up: News & Reviews

It's important to stay up to date in the ever-changing world of make-up. The Library offers a range of resources and trend forecasting tools to help you stay informed about beauty and fashion industry news, and technical practice.

Market and industry information is a crucial tool when compiling trend forecasts or writing reports or essays about developments in the industry. The sources below can help you find marketing information and data:

Data from companies or websites can sometimes be biased and misleading. Reliable statistics are generally produced by government agencies, dedicated statistical departments and other official organisations: 

Office for National Statistics
UK's largest independent producer of official statistics, including business, employment, population, health and environmental data.

Government Departments & Agencies
UK government information, data and reports on matters such as immigration, tobacco, social housing, sport, gambling, the environment, etc. 

London Datastore
Free and open data-sharing portal  where anyone can access data relating to the capital. 

Eurostat
Statistics from the European Union. Includes data on health, education, food and packaging, tourism, population, climate change and more.

Data.gov
USA Government's open data. Information on retail, trade, climate, health, education and other sectors, at a federal, state, and local level.

Allure 
Aims to be the insider's guide to a woman's total image.

Beauty Papers
Covers beauty, fashion photography and podcasts by a range of industry professionals.

Black Beauty & Hair 
Covers the latest hair, beauty and fashion looks.

Black Beauty Archive
A collection of objects for educational use currently includes magazines, books, cosmetics, and biographies. Spanning the period 1940s-2023.

British Beauty Council

A not-for-profit organisation 'dedicated to solving beauty’s shared challenges'. The first industry-wide organisation committed to lobbying legislative issues with policy-makers. Includes The Value of Beauty 2023 report.

Business of Fashion (BoF) 
A daily news resource for fashion creatives, executives and entrepreneurs, providing information about industry developments, emerging designers, global brands and a point of view on the fashion business. 

The Fashion Law
An independent source of objective fashion law and business analysis, and serves as a community for lawyers, business executives, fashion industry insiders, and students. 

firstVIEW

firstVIEW Archive provides access to a range of photos and videos of fashion runway shows from 1995-present. Streetstyle images are also available.

Infringe Archive
Visual archive from Infringe magazine covering the world of hair across the creative disciplines.

Museum of Youth Culture 
Currently an online-only museum dedicated to the styles, sounds and social movements innovated by young people over the past 100 years.

On Makeup Magazine 
The Library also has print issues.

Trans+ On Screen 
A directory for trans+ and non-binary professionals in film and TV.

TrendTablet
A free online trend tool founded by Li Edelkoort, an influential trend forecaster, which looks at how trends grow, evolve and flow.

Warpaint 
An online magazine for professional make-up artists and features body art, prosthetics, wig work and SFX as well as high fashion, catwalk, editorial and beauty.

Our trend forecasting databases are industry-standard tools, compiled by writers and researchers who travel the world looking for new design practices, emerging trends and innovators working across multiple fields.

Catch up on every season.