Make-up: Specialist Resources

• 

  Stan Winston School of Character Arts This link opens in a new window

  Video tutorials on the art and technology of character creation. Covers a wide range of disciplines, including sculpture, makeup effects, animatronics, puppetry, fabrication, and many digital tools, taught by leading industry professionals and Academy Award winners. Limited to 5 users at a time; users are automatically logged out when browser window is closed.

• Neill Gorton DVDs

  A useful range of resources for prosthetics and character creation.

• 

  Hairdressing Training This link opens in a new window

  Step-by-step instructional videos for hairdressing styles and techniques. Great for practical learning and skill building in hair and beauty.

• 

  Hair Power: Me and My Afro

  This taboo-busting documentary tells the story of how hair shapes Black experiences in modern Britain. Academic and writer Emma Dabiri leads the conversation, exploring how afro-textured hair has often been hidden, disguised, plagiarised and stigmatised.
  Available on Box of Broadcasts - login using your AUB email address and password.

• BAFTA

  BAFTA on YouTube includes interviews with directors and film practitioners, and lectures and masterclasses from industry professionals.

• 

  Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window

  Digital Theatre Plus provides documentaries and interviews to give a valuable insight into the play making process. Off-campus access is available. Click on 'Sign In' in the top right, select AUB from the 'Select (Institution)' list and then click on 'Sign in with my Institution'.
• 

  Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window

  Streaming access to filmed stage performances of important classic and contemporary plays from around the world. Also includes footage of backstage processes, and reference materials like interviews and film scripts, and ephemera such as playbills and posters.
• 

  Theatre Performance and Design Collection This link opens in a new window

  Streaming access to filmed stage performances and audio plays, plus production designs to support theatre education and research. Includes full productions from National Theatre Archive, Royal Shakespeare Company and BroadwayHD, plus audio from L.A. Theatre Works

• 

  Drama Online This link opens in a new window

  Access to hundreds of full play texts, plus context guides, biographies and critical texts covering all aspects of theatre and performance. Suitable for performance analysis, script work, and theatre studies.

• JSTOR Understanding Shakespeare

  Complete texts of all of Shakespeare's plays, with each line linked to scholarly articles from the JSTOR archive that quote it, to enable research and close reading.

• 

  Project Gutenberg This link opens in a new window

  Digital library of free eBooks, featuring thousands of classic texts in the public domain. Explore some of the most influential works in literary history, including novels, playscripts, essays and poetry, available in multiple formats and languages.

• 

  ProQuest Screen Studies Collection This link opens in a new window

  Search across all three of the ProQuest film databases (AFI Catalog, FIAF and Film Index International) using a single search.