Library Search: Make-up: Home

On This Guide

Home
Introduction to support in the Library and how to find books and eBooks.

Scholarly Sources
Information about recommended academic journals and databases.

Visual Research
Image and film & video resources.

Specialist Resources
Textual and audio-visual resources for professional practice.

News & Reviews
Trend forecasting publications and databases, and resources for keeping up with beauty and industry news.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

BA (Hons) Make-up

What Do Your Subject Librarians Do?

Your Subject Librarian can help with:

Conducting research and finding high-quality sources

Using information resources and search tools effectively

Referencing, from in-text citations to your bibliography

Featured Books

Finding Books & eBooks

Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search the Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read.

eBooks are also available through databases, which you can search separately:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of over 100,000 e-books which covers a wide range of subjects including anthropology, art and design, cultural studies, drama, history, music, philosophy, psychology, religion and technology.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is a comprehensive resource offering instant, searchable access to over 170 books includes marketing and business.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference books which focuses on literature and history, with smaller collections in the areas of drama, business, science and religion.

The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online.

To find a book in the Library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.

Click here to browse the newest print books in the Make-up collection.

All book spines are labelled with a decimal number corresponding to a particular subject. The numbers increase gradually when moving from book to book from left to right along each shelf.

The number is followed by 3 letters, usually corresponding to the first three letters within the author's surname (e.g. 792.027 BAK for Patsy Baker).

001.4	Research & Study Skills
305	Gender
306	Cultural Theory
391	Body Decoration
611 & 612	Human Anatomy & Physiology
646.72-646.73	Beauty, Cosmetics & Hair
700	Art
778.99646	Fashion Photography
791.43	Film & Cinema
791.5	Circuses & Clowning
792	Theatre & Performance
792.027	Theatrical Make-up & Special Effects
800	Literature
900	History

Symbols

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Performance and Fashion.

Subject Librarian

Antonia Leak

she / her

Email Me

Subjects: Acting, Dance, Events Management, Illustration, Make-up for Media and Performance, Textiles

Subject Librarian

Linda Albin

Email Me

Subjects: Acting, Dance, Events Management, Illustration, Make-up for Media and Performance, Textiles