Library Search: Equality, Diversity and Inclusion: Staff Toolkit: Access &amp; Participation

Introduction

Access and participation work aims to increase the proportion of students from under-represented groups entering higher education. These groups include:

People from low income groups
People who live in neighbourhoods where progression to higher education is low
First in family to consider HE
People attending schools or colleges where performance or progression to HE falls below the national average
Care experienced people
People with a disability
People who are carers
People from under-represented ethnic backgrounds

This guide provides a starting point for research and an introduction to the literature in this field.

Interlibrary Loan

If you find a book or journal article that we do not have in our collections you can request this through our Inter-library Loan service. For more information click here.

Recommended Resources

Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is designed to meet the needs of education students, professionals and policy makers. It includes full text of more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and education-related conference papers and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and includes educational specialities such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly articles from a range of academic disciplines. It is both authoritative and comprehensive and has millions of articles available in full-text.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
This full-text journal database reflects the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities; Art, design, crafts, photography, architecture, interior design, urban planning, music, theatre, film and cultural studies. Also covers selected titles from related fields, such as ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.

Widening Participation and Lifelong Learning
British Educational Research Journal
Full text Access from 1978. Abstract only for articles published in the last 12 months (Publisher embargo). For these articles please request an Inter Library Loan.
Gender and education
Full text Access from 1990. Abstract only for articles published in the last 15 months (Publisher embargo). For these articles please request an Inter Library Loan.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Search tool for open access journals. Click on search and choose articles to get the best results.

Disabled students UK
Disabled student led organisation. Includes reports and research on improving access to HE based on lived experience.
Office for students: promoting equal opportunities
This section focuses on the OfS work to promote access, success and progress for under represented groups of students. Includes: Access agreements, best practice, research and data.
Open Circle podcast (PURSUE)
Promoting and representing the working class voice in Widening Participation and HE through lived experience. Available on Spotify or through the PURSUE website.
The Sutton Trust: Higher education pages
The Sutton Trust is an educational charity championing social mobility through programmes, research and policy influence.
UCL Centre for education policy and equalising opportunities
UCL Research centre. The research looks at how the education system and wider practices can be improved to equalise opportunities.
UPP Foundation
UPP Foundation supports Universities to address some of the key issues: includes access and participation, the civic university and employability. Useful reports and research.

RSS Feed: Education Source

Explore recent articles from the Education Source database exploring widening participation in Higher Education.

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion: Staff Toolkit: Access & Participation

Introduction

Interlibrary Loan

Recommended Books

Recommended Resources

Recommended Video

RSS Feed: Education Source