Library Search: Visual Communication: Image & Film Research

What is Visual Research?

Visual research is a process of information discovery where the desired outcome is image-based instead of text-based. This is a part of both written and design work.

Images and video appear easy to find and access, with huge amounts available through online platforms such as YouTube or Pinterest. Using media sourced from platforms like these remains complicated and centres around questions of transparency, trust and context.

The Library can provide you with access to a wide range of image and audiovisual resources, useful for the process of visual research, providing you with inspiration and ideas to inform your work.

Image & Media Databases

Artstor This link opens in a new window
High-resolution image database, including artworks, photographs, illustrations and graphic design collections.
Stash Media This link opens in a new window
Showcases motion design, visual effects, animation and VFX projects, including TV and cinema advertising, title and broadcast designs, brand films, game trailers and exclusive interviews. Access is on-campus only.
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) This link opens in a new window
A gateway to digital images for use in art education, covering applied arts, architecture, design, fine art and media. Includes images from MoDiP.

Featured Documentary Film

Feels Good Man (2020) is a documentary film charting the rise and fall of Pepe the Frog. Starting life in 2005 as a cute cartoon character in Boy’s Club, an American indie comic, today, he is known as an international hate symbol after being hijacked by the alt-right. Exactly how that happened is a wild journey into the heart of online life today.

The Library has a large collection of DVDs. If you do not have a DVD or Blu-ray player, there are facilities in the Library that can be booked at the Library counter.

Search the collection by director, genre or specific film title using the search below. Narrow the search by selecting Locations > DVD Bay to the left of your results.

Blu-rays and DVDs can be found in the centre of the library on the ground floor, organised in numerical sequence. If you cannot find what you are looking for, remember to check Box of Broadcasts or Kanopy.

709	Art History / Theory
720	Architecture
770	Photography
780	Music Documentary
791.43	Feature Films
791.434	Animation
791.43601	Experimental
791.43655	Documentary
791.4375	Short Films
791.45	TV Series
792	Theatre
793	Dance
822	Shakespeare

Film & Video

The Library provides access to thousands of films, documentaries and programmes through our video streaming services:

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window

TV and radio programmes from over 60 channels. You can find some good design documentaries in this BoB Playlist.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window

Streamable documentaries, world cinema and classic film. Kanopy lists its design documentaries on this page.

Tutorials and Support

Stan Winston School of Character Arts This link opens in a new window
Tutorial collection for learning the art & technology of character creation from award-winning industry professionals, teaching you a vast range of skills and techniques, from big budget cinematic approaches to DIY methods. Contact library@aub.ac.uk from your AUB email account for the username and password.
LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
Training videos that cover a wide range of software, from 3D animation to web development. Includes support on all Adobe products, Maya, Unreal, and more, alongside courses on design topics.

Visual Communication: Image & Film Research