Library Search: Visual Communication: Home

On This Guide

Home
Introduction to support in the Library and how to find books and eBooks.

Journals & Databases
Information about recommended academic journals and databases.

Image & Film Research
Magazines, image databases, motion graphics, tutorials and video content.

Design History Research
Archival collections and more for researching graphic and commercial design history.

Marketing & Industry Information
News, trade publications, market research reports, data, statistics and other information about industry.

Artists' Books, Zines & Alternative Publishing
Online zines and alternative press content, and the Artists' Book collection in the Library.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

BA (Hons) Visual Communication

Symbols

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Visual Communication

Featured Books

Hello human : a history of visual communication

Visible signs : an introduction to semiotics in the visual arts

Wired to create : unraveling the mysteries of the creative mind

The chaos machine : the inside story of how social media rewired our minds and our world

Extinct : a compendium of obsolete objects

Status and culture : how our desire for social rank creates taste, identity, art, fashion, and constant change

Design to live : everyday inventions from a refugee camp

Is technology making us sick? [electronic resource] : a primer for the 21st century

Is technology making us sick? : a primer for the 21st century

The Aesthetics of Global Protest: Visual Culture and Communication

Finding Books & eBooks

The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online.

To find a book in the Library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.

Click here to browse the newest print books in the Library relating to Visual Communication.

Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search the Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read.

eBooks are also available through databases, which you can search separately:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Huge eBook collection, covering a wide variety of topics related to visual communication, including advertising, packaging, signage, publishing and more.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more

Internet Archive - Open Library
UCL Press Open Access eBooks
Collection of free eBooks from UCL, including art and design titles, and books on social media, sustainability and the built environment.

When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.

001.56	Semiotics
070.5	Book & Magazine Publishing
303.375	Propaganda
306.1	Subcultures
655.2	Typography
655.7	Book Binding
658.8	Consumer Behaviour
659.1	Advertising
701.1	Art Theory
741	Illustration
741.6	Graphic Design
741.65	Zines
741.67	Advertising Art
741.671	Packaging
745.2024	Sustainable Design
791.434	Animation
791.4332	Motion Graphics

Subject Librarian

Suzanna Hall

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Costume, Fashion Branding and Communication, Fashion Design, Graphic Design, Historical Costume, Performance Design and Film Costume, Visual Communication

What Does Your Subject Librarian Do?

Your Subject Librarian can help with:

Conducting research and finding high-quality sources

Using information resources and search tools effectively

Referencing, from in-text citations to your bibliography