Referencing: Referencing Guide

Books with a Single Author

References from a printed book should be made up of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of publication).
• Title.
• Edition if not the first.
• Place of publication:
• Publisher.

Example:
Kelly, M. (1997). Imaging desire. Cambridge, MA: MIT Press. 

Example in-text citation:
(Kelly, 1997, p.105)

 

Books with Multiple Authors

If there are two or three authors, list them in the order they appear. The same elements are required as for a single author.
 

Examples:
Parker, R. and Pollock, G. (1987). Framing feminism: Art and the Women’s Movement 1970-85. London: Pandora.
or
Brown, J., Brignone, S. and Ward, A. (2001). The modern garden. London: Thames & Hudson.

Example in-text citations:
(Parker and Pollock, 1987, p.135) or (Brown, Brigone and Ward, 2001, p.35)

 

Where four or more authors are responsible for a publication use the first author’s name followed by et al.
 
Example:
Kotler, P. et al. (2002). Principles of marketing. 3rd ed. Harlow: Pearson Education.

Example in-text citation:
(Kotler et al., 2002, p.88)

 

Book by an Organisation

References should consist of the following elements:

• Organisation's name.
• (Year of publication).
• Title.
• Edition if not the first.
• Place of publication:
• Publisher.

Example:
Association of Illustrators. (2000). Images 24: The best of British illustration. Crans-Pres-Celigny: Rotovision.

Example in-text citation:
(Association of Illustrators, 2000, p.96)

eBooks

References should consist of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of eBook edition).
• Title.
• [eBook].
• Edition if not the first.
• Place of publication:
• Publisher.
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Examples:
Lynge-Jorlén, A. (2017). Niche fashion magazines: Changing the shape of fashion [eBook]. London: I. B. Tauris & Company. Available from: http://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/aib/detail.action?docID=5161381 [Accessed 20 November 2023].
or
Carroll, L. (2008). Alice's adventures in Wonderland [eBook]. Project Gutenberg. Available from: http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/11 [Accessed 8 August 2023].

Example in-text citations:
Where page numbers display, include them. Where they do not, use n.pag.
(Lynge-Jorlén, 2017, p.205) or (Carroll, 2008, n.pag.)

 

Kindle or eBook Reader

References should consist of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of eBook edition).
• Title
• [Type of eBook reader].
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date you first accessed the book].

Example:
Smith, A. (2008). The wealth of nations [Kindle eBook]. Available from: http://www.amazon.co.uk [Accessed 30 October 2023].

Example in-text citation:
Where page numbers display, include them. Where they do not, use n.pag.
(Smith, 2008, p.194) or (Smith, 2008, n.pag.)

Essay or Contribution within a Book

In works where individual chapters have differing authors, or for a section within a publication that has a different author to the overall work, references should consist of the following elements:

• Contributor's Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of publication).
• Title of chapter/essay/contribution.
• In:
• Editor's Family Name, Initial(s).
• (ed.) or (eds.)
• Title of book.
• Edition if not the first.
• Place of publication:
• Publisher.
• Page number(s) of contribution.

If accessed online, also include the following:

• [eBook] (following the title)
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Examples:
Ehrenreich, B., Hess, E. and Jacobs, G. (1997). Beatlemania: A sexually defiant consumer culture? In: Gelder, K. and Thornton, S. (eds.). The subcultures reader. 2nd ed. London: Routledge. pp.523-536.
or
Ajeenah, L. (2015). Arabic type is my type: A question of Arabic typography education. In: Heller, S. (ed.) The education of a graphic designer [eBook]. New York: Allworth Press. pp.279-286. Available from: https://search.proquest.com/ebookcentral/docview/2148292311 [Accessed 4 November 2023].

Example in-text citations:
(Ehrenreich, Hess and Jacobs, 1997, p.540) or (Ajeenah, 2015, p.280)

Play Texts

For most play texts, follow the same format for referencing print books or eBooks, depending on the method of access.

• Playwright's Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of publication).
• Title.
• Edition if not the first.
• Place of publication:
• Publisher.

If accessed online, also include the following:

• [eBook] (following the title)
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Examples:
Kane, S. (2002). Phaedra's love. London: Methuen.
or
Kureishi, H. (2009). The black album [eBook]. London: Faber and Faber. Available from: https://www.dramaonlinelibrary.com/plays/the-black-album-iid-134458/ [Accessed 1 September 2023].

Example in-text citations:
When citing a line from a play text, use either the page number or act, scene, and line, depending on how the work has been formatted.
(Kane, 2002, p.101) or (Kureishi, 2009, 2.10: 3)

 

Works by Shakespeare with a Named Editor

List Shakespeare first, followed by the editor(s) after the title. For the in-text citation, use Shakespeare's name and the date the edition you are using was published.

Example:
Shakespeare, W. (1965). Measure for measure. Lever, J.W. (ed.) London: Methuen.

Example in-text citation:
When citing a line from a play text, use either the page number or act, scene, and line, depending on how the work has been formatted.
(Shakespeare, 1965, 1.2: 177)

Print Dictionary or Encyclopedia Entry

References should consist of the following elements:

• Dictionary/Encyclopedia publisher. or Author’s Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of publication)
• Title of dictionary or encyclopedia entry.
• Full title of dictionary/encyclopedia.
• Place of publication:
• Publisher.

Example:
Collins. (2010). Architecture. Collins English Dictionary. Glasgow: Collins.

Example in-text citation:
(Collins, 2010, p.22)

 

Online Dictionary or Encyclopedia Entry

References should consist of the following elements:

• Dictionary/Encyclopedia publisher. or Author’s Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of publication).
• Title of dictionary or encyclopedia entry.
• Full title of dictionary/encyclopedia
• [online].
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example:
Wikipedia. (2018). Lighthouse. Wikipedia [online]. Available from: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lighthouse [Accessed 1 December 2023].

Example in-text citation:
(Wikipedia, 2018)

Journal Articles in Print

References for articles in printed journals should be made up of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of publication).
• Title of article.
• Title of journal.
• Volume number
• Issue number.
• Page numbers.

Example References:
Craik, J. (2003). The cultural politics of the uniform. Fashion Theory: The Journal of Dress, Body and Culture. Vol.7 No.2. pp.127-147.
or
Acharya, R. and Kaufman, E. (2019). Turns of 'fate': Jack Cole, jazz and Bharata Natyam in diasporic translation. Studies in Musical Theatre. Vol.13 No.1. pp. 9–21

Example Citations:
(Craik, 2003, p.128) or (Acharya and Kaufman, 2019, p.20)

Journal Articles in Online Databases

Electronic journals may have a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) and/or a web address. Either can be used to say where the article is available from, but the DOI is preferred where available. References should be made up of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of publication).
• Title of article.
• Title of journal.
• Volume number
• Issue number.
• Page numbers
• [online].
• Available from: DOI or Web Address.

Example References:
Reddy-Best, K.L., Choi, E. and Park, H. (2018). Men in fashion illustration textbooks: A critical analysis of race and the body. Critical Studies in Men's Fashion. Vol. 5 No. 1–2. pp. 103–123 [online]. Available from: https://doi.org/10.1386/csmf.5.1-2.103_1.
or
Jackson, K.M. (2000). Play it again and again: Casablanca's impact on American mass media and popular culture. Journal of Popular Film and Television. Vol.27. No.4. pp.33-41 [online]. Available from: https://search.proquest.com/iipa/docview/2082100/220CD0BF22344A13PQ/3?accountid=8226.

Example Citations:
(Reddy-Best, Choi and Park, 2018, p.105) or (Jackson, 2000, p.35)

Newspaper Articles in Print

References for articles in printed newspapers should be made up of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of publication).
• Title of article.
• Title of newspaper.
• Day and Month.
• Page numbers.

Example Reference:
Younge, G. (2003). Civil rights kitchen serves last supper. The Guardian. 4 August. p.12.

Example Citation:
(Younge, 2003, p.12)

 

Magazine Articles in Print

References for articles in printed magazines should be made up of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of publication).
• Title of article.
• Title of magazine.
• Volume and Issue Number. (if available)
• Date and/or Month.
• Page numbers.

Example References:
Ashworth, M. (2010). Hidden posters on the London Underground. Creative Review. Vol.30 No.10. October. pp.1-19.
or
Meisel, S. (2016). Girls & boys.Vogue Italia. No.785. January. pp.139-145.

Example Citations:
(Ashworth, 2010, p.2) or (Meisel, 2016, p.139)

Online Newspaper Articles

References for articles on newspaper websites should be made up of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s).
• (Year of publication).
• Title of article.
• Title of newspaper.
• Day and Month
• [online].
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example Reference:
Sanders, J. (2019). A Black legacy, wrapped up in fur. The New York Times. 31 January [online]. Available from: https://www.nytimes.com/2019/01/31/style/fur-black-women-history.html [Accessed 22 June 2023].

Example Citation:
(Sanders, 2019)

 

Online Magazine Articles

Artworks in Exhibitions

Zines or Artists' Books in Library or Archive Collections

References for zines or artists' books accessed via library or archive collections should be made up of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s) or Pseudonym
• Year of publication (in brackets)
• Title of zine or book (in italics)
• Volume or Issue number (if applicable)
• [zine] or [artist book]
• Publisher (if known)
• Location of Collection:
• Name of Collection

Example References:
Green, L. (2014). Foxy feb zine. [zine]. Bournemouth: AUB Library Special Collections.
or
myeyeisonfire. (2008). The roar. No.3. [zine]. Bournemouth: AUB Library Special Collections.

Example Citations:
(Green, 2014) or (myeyeisonfire, 2008)

 

Zines or Artists' Books Accessed Online

References for zines accessed online should be made up of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s) or Pseudonym
• Year of publication (in brackets)
• Title of zine or book (in italics)
• Volume or Issue number (if applicable)
• [zine] or [artist book]
• Name of Online Collection (if applicable)
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example Reference:
Cercone, K. (2004). Ms. Direction. No.7. [zine]. QZAP Zine Archive. Available from: https://archive.qzap.org/index.php/Detail/Object/Show/object_id/359 [Accessed 15 July 2023].

Example Citation:
(Cercone, 2004)

 

Museum Artefacts

References for museum artefacts viewed in person should be made up of the following elements:

• Creator's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of creation (in brackets)
• Title or description (in italics)
• [material type]
• Location:
• Museum, gallery or holding institution
• Identifier (if applicable)

Enter the year(s) as displayed on the artefact's label/description. Use "ca." before approximate dates. For items with no known originator/creator, start your reference with the title or description of the object.

Example References:
Westwood, V. (1991). Cut, Slash & Pull Dress. [cotton voile dress]. London: V&A Museum. T.187:1 to 3-1991.
or
Mr Potato Head figure. (ca.1970-1990). [plastic toy]. Bournemouth: Museum of Design in Plastics. AIBDC:004826.

Example Citations:
(Westwood, 1991) or (Mr Potato Head figure, ca.1970-1990)

 

Museum Artefacts in Digital Collections

References for museum artefacts viewed online should be made up of the following elements:

• Creator's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of creation (in brackets)
• Title or description (in italics)
• [material type]
• Location:
• Museum, gallery or holding institution
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example Reference:
Belling, R. (1923). Sculpture 23. [brass]. New York: MoMA. Available from: https://www.moma.org/collection/works/81202 [Accessed 11 September 2023].

Example Citation:
(Belling, 1923)

Lecture Notes

Use this format for notes you have taken during lectures. References should consist of the following elements:

• Lecturer's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year (in brackets)
• Lecture Title (in italics)
• Course Title
• Institute name
• Day and Month

Example Reference:
Jones, A. (2014). Interpretation of text. BA Illustration. Arts University Bournemouth. 27 February.

Example Citation:
(Jones, 2014)

 

Lecture Presentations

Use this format if referring directly to content in the lecture PowerPoint / presentation. References should consist of the following elements:

• Lecturer's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of lecture (in brackets)
• Title of Presentation (in italics)
• [Format of presentation]
• Title of unit
• Institute name
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example Reference:
Albin, L. (2016). Textiles: visual research. [PowerPoint presentation]. TVS & CBITT. Arts University Bournemouth. Available from: https://mycourse.aub.ac.uk/batx4/ [Accessed 3 August 2023].

Example Citation:
(Albin, 2016)

Thesis or Dissertation

References should consist of the following elements:

• Author's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of award (in brackets)
• Title (in italics)
• Designation / award
• Institution to which submitted

Example References:
Favilla, A.L. (2004). Images of the virtual: rethinking photography in the age of biotechnologies. PhD Thesis. University of London.
or
West, N. (2001). Costume in the late 20th century ‘out-of- time’ films of Shakespeare’s plays: forms and functions. MA Dissertation. Nottingham Trent University

Example Citations:
(Favilla, 2004, p.155) or (West, 2001, p.302)

Published Conference Proceedings

References should consist of the following elements:

• Author's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of publication (in brackets)
• Title of Paper
• In:
• Editor's Family Name, Initial(s) (ed.) (if applicable)
• Title of Conference Proceedings (in italics)
• Place and date of conference
• Place of publication
• Publisher
• Page number(s) of paper

Example Reference:
Lieberman, O. and Altés Arlandis, A. (2013). Interventions, durations, effects: architecting the city and the world. In: Verbeke, J. and Pak, B. (eds.) Knowing (by) designing, 22-23 May 2013, Sint-Lucas School of Architecture, Brussels. Ghent/Brussels: LUCA, Sint-Lucas School of Architecture, Ghent/Brussels and KU Leuven, Faculty of Architecture. pp. 614-621.

Example Citation:
(Lieberman and Altés Arlandis, 2013, p.619)

 

Unpublished Conference Papers

References should consist of the following elements:

• Author's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of conference (in brackets)
• Title of paper (in italics)
• Title of conference
• Date of conference
• Location of conference (including venue and city)

Example Reference:
Lieberman, O. (2002). Interdisciplinarity to transdisciplinarity: rethinking the boundary in architectural learning. Shared Visions Conference, 1-3 September 2002, ADC-LTSN, Centre for Education in the Built Environment and Palantine, Brighton.

Example Citation:
(Lieberman, 2002)

Interviews in Person

References should consist of the following elements:

• Interviewee's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year (in brackets)
• Interviewee's job title/position (if appropriate)
• Interview with author
• Day and Month

Example Reference:
Green, V. (2017). Organic Farming Policy Officer. Interview with author. 7 September.

Example Citation:
(Green, 2017)

 

Interviews on the Telephone or Video Chat

References should consist of the following elements:

• Interviewee's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year (in brackets)
• Interviewee's job title/position (if appropriate)
• Telephone conversation / Zoom conversation with author
• Day and Month

Example Reference:
Longbridge, J. (2011). Opera South Public Relations Officer. Telephone conversation with author. 5 May.

Example Citation:
(Longbridge, 2011)

Email Correspondence

References should consist of the following elements:

• Sender's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year (in brackets)
• Email to recipient's name
• Day and Month

Example Reference:
Smith, J. (2018). Email to John Jones. 5 May.

Example Citation:
(Smith, 2018)

Letters

References should consist of the following elements:

• Sender's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year (in brackets)
• Sender's job title/position (if appropriate)
• Letter to author
• Day and Month

Example Reference:
Beare, P. (2002). Deputy Head TAW Elementary School. Letter to author. 17 January.

Example Citation:
(Beare, 2002)

Web Pages

References should consist of the following elements:

• Author's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of publication (in brackets)
• Title of web page (in italics)
• [online].
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Check the guidance for online journals, newspapers and magazines, as these are treated differently.

Example Reference:
Duchamp, M. (1957). The Creative Act [online]. Available from: http://radicalart.info/things/readymade/duchamp/text.html [Accessed 12 August 2023].

Example Citation:
(Duchamp, 1957)

 

Web Pages with no Author

It can sometimes be difficult to ascertain the author of a website. If you can’t find an individual name use the name of the organisation or company to whom the website belongs.

Example Reference:
Fashion Studies Alliance. (2018). Our Manifesto [online]. Available from: https://www.fashionstudiesalliance.org/manifesto [Accessed 10 July 2023].

Example Citation:
(Fashion Studies Alliance, 2018)

 

Web Pages with no Publication Date

It can often be difficult to find out when online material was published. If there is a last updated date, or a date next to the copyright symbol at the bottom of the page, use this. If there is no indication of date at all, no date (n.d.) should be put in brackets after the name in place of the year.

Example Reference:
National Museum Wales (n.d.). The process – from fleece to fabric [online]. Available from: http://www.museumwales.ac.uk/en/wool/the-process/ [Accessed 10 August 2023].

Example Citation:
(National Museum of Wales, n.d.)

Social Media Posts (e.g. X (formerly Twitter), Instagram, TikTok)

References should consist of the following elements:

• Author's Family Name, Initial(s)
  or screen-name where this is not known
• Year of post (in brackets)
• Title or excerpt of post
• Title of platform (in italics)
• [online].
• Day and Month of Post
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date]

Example References:
Navarro, J. (2012). Tactical haptics. Twitter [online]. 11 January. Available from: https://twitter.com/TacticalHaptics/status/1134479250113699840 [Accessed 26 July 2023].
or
Diet Prada. (2023). Phoebe Philo's Eponymous Brand to Debut in September. Instagram [online]. 9 February. Available from: https://www.instagram.com/p/CocremmOFi2/ [Accessed 1 June 2023].
or
inspiredaub. (2022). Freshers' Fit Check. TikTok [online]. 3 November. Available from: https://www.tiktok.com/@inspiredaub/video/7169164235044424965?lang=en [Accessed 8 January 2023].

Example Citations:
(Navarro, 2012) or (Diet Prada, 2023) or (inspiredaub, 2022)

Blogs

References should consist of the following elements:

• Author's Family Name, Initial(s)
  or screen-name where this is not known
• Year of publication (in brackets)
• Title of blog entry
• Title of blog (in italics)
• [online].
• Day and Month of Post
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date]

Example Reference:
Lau, S. (2018). Dark Disney. Style Bubble [online]. 22 June. Available from: http://stylebubble.co.uk/style_bubble/2018/06/dark-disney.html [Accessed 26 October 2023].

Example Citation:
(Lau, 2018)

Podcasts

References should consist of the following elements:

• Title of Podcast
• Year of publication (in brackets)
• Title of episode (in italics)
• [online].
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example Reference:
99% Invisible. (2018). Post-Narco Urbanism [online]. Available from: https://99percentinvisible.org/episode/post-narco-urbanism/ [Accessed 19 October 2023].

Example Citation:
(99% Invisible, 2018)

Mobile App Content

References should consist of the following elements:

• Originator or Author
• Year (in brackets)
  or accessed year if this is not available
• Title of app content
• Title of app (in italics)
• [mobile app]
• [Accessed Date]

Example Reference:
BBC. (2013). Major changes to A-levels planned. BBC News. [mobile app]. [Accessed 23 January 2023]

Example Citation:
(BBC, 2013)

PDFs

PDF (Portable Document Format) is a file format used to present text and images. PDFs may contain any kind of written information, and therefore you must identify what type of source you have, and follow the guidance for that source type given elsewhere on this guide, in order to correctly reference it.

For example, in academic publishing, it is common to encounter journal articles and conference papers as PDF files. You may also often access eBooks, government and industry reports or theses and dissertations as PDFs. These are all referenced differently.

It is not possible to give an exhaustive list of all types of sources that may be distributed in a PDF format, and you must use your best judgement to ascertain what type of source you have found before you can reference it.

Considerations when Referencing AI Outputs

Like any other kind of third-party material, for AI generated work to be used legitimately in university work, it must be properly referenced.

Because AI outputs are different from other forms of ‘published’ material, referencing AI presents particular challenges:

• AI-generated material can theoretically be produced in any format, including text, imagery, video, sound, animation or any other outputs.
• AI-generated material is often dynamic content that cannot be recovered by other researchers at a later date. Therefore, it is not appropriate to reference this material like other forms of online content, which can typically be recovered by following the link given in the reference.

With this in mind, we recommend handling visual and textual material generated by AI tools differently from other forms of referencing.

Referencing AI-Generated Text

Because AI-generated text cannot be linked to, you should treat this information like other forms of unpublished primary source research data (e.g. questionnaire data, interview transcripts).

The full text output and initial prompt should be recorded (such as in a screenshot), and reproduced in the appendix of the essay or dissertation. The full text prompt can then be referred to and cited in-text. For example:

(OpenAI, 2023. See Appendix A for full transcript).

Include the full text output in the Appendix, alongside details of the tool used to generate the response. For example:

Open AI. (2023). ‘Describe the significance of religion in the cinema of Andrei Tarkovsky’ prompt. ChatGPT v.3.5.  

For non-essay submissions that do not include a formal appendix (e.g. sketchbooks, process books), the copy text output should be included in an appropriate place elsewhere in your work.

 

Further Information

We do not recommend formal bibliographic referencing for the current generation of text-based generative AI (such as ChatGPT) because:

• The full text output cannot be recovered or checked
• The current generation of generative AI do not cite the original sources of the information in their output. Citing the use of an AI, like a chatbot, is therefore not the same as citing the source for a piece of information.
• When asked to provide references for their information, these tools frequently point to unrelated material or invent fictitious references, so these outputs cannot be viewed as authoritative and referenced without caveat.

Please note: We may find we need to update or amend this advice as these tools become more advanced or functionality changes.

Films Viewed at the Cinema or on Home Video

Use this format for films viewed at the cinema, or on DVD, Blu-Ray or other similar mediums for video material. References should consist of the following elements:

• Director's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of film release (in brackets)
• Title (in italics)
• [Type of medium from which it was viewed]
• Place of production
• Production organisation (the main company if there are multiple)

Example References:
Aster, A. (2019). Midsommar. [Film]. New York: A24 Films.
or
Burton, T. (1988). Beetlejuice. [DVD]. London: Warner Home Video.
or
Allen, W. (1986). Hannah and her Sisters. [VHS]. Beverly Hills: MGM Home Entertainment.

Example Citations:
(Aster, 2019) or (Burton, 1988) or (Allen, 1986)

 

Films Viewed Online

Use this format for films viewed online, through streaming services like Netflix or Box of Broadcasts (BoB). References should consist of the following elements:

• Director's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of film release (in brackets)
• Title (in italics)
• [Film]
• Production organisation (if known)
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example References:
Hitchcock, A. (1963). The Birds. [Film]. Universal Pictures. Available from: http://bobnational.net/record/136908 [Accessed 16 November 2023].
or
Cuarón, A. (2018). Roma. [Film]. Netflix. Available from: https://www.netflix.com/gb/title/80240715 [Accessed 25 November 2023].

Example Citations:
(Hitchcock, 1963) or (Cuarón, 2018)

 

Special Features on DVD or Blu-Ray

Special features are any additional audio, visual or interactive media that exist beyond the original version of a film on a DVD or Blu-Ray, such as director’s commentary. References should consist of the following elements:

• Creator's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of film release (in brackets)
• Title of special feature
• In:
• Director's Family Name, Initial(s)
• (Dir.)
• Film Title (in italics)
• [Type of medium from which it was viewed]
• Place of production
• Production organisation (the main company if there are multiple)

Example References:
Giacchino, A. (1999). The Giant's Dream: The Making of the Iron Giant. In: Bird, B. (Dir.) The Iron Giant. [DVD]. Burbank: Warner Bros. Films.
Or
Fincher, D., Pitt, B. and Freeman, M. (1995). Audio Commentary. In: Fincher, D. (Dir.) Se7en. [Blu-Ray]. Burbank: Warner Bros. Films.

Example Citations:
(Giacchino, 2019) or (Fincher, Pitt and Freeman, 1995)

TV Episodes

Use this format for individual television episodes watched on live television, on catch-up and on streaming services like iPlayer or Box of Broadcasts (BoB). References should consist of the following elements:

• Series title (if appropriate) (in italics)
• Episode number (if appropriate)
• Episode title (in italics)
• Year (in brackets)
• Channel
• [Type of medium from which it was viewed]
• Day and Month of Broadcast

If viewed online, also include the following:

• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example References:
Friends. The One Where Phoebe Runs. (2003). E4. [Television]. 8 August.
or
A Stitch in Time. Episode 5.(2018). BBC4. [Television]. 31 January. Available from: https://learningonscreen.ac.uk/ondemand/index.php/prog/1091ADD3?bcast=126021038 [Accessed 14 August 2023].

Example Citations:
(Friends, The One Where Phoebe Runs, 2003) or (A Stitch in Time, Episode 5, 2018)

 

TV Seasons

Use this format for whole television seasons viewed on live television, on catch-up and on streaming services like iPlayer or Box of Broadcasts (BoB). References should consist of the following elements:

• Series title (in italics)
• Year (in brackets)
• Season Number.
• Channel
• [Type of medium from which it was viewed]

If viewed online, also include the following:

• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example References:
Mad Men. (2009). Season 3. BBC4. [Television].
or
Sex Education. (2019). Season 1. Netflix. [Television]. Available from: https://www.netflix.com/gb/title/80197526 [Accessed 10 October 2023].

Example Citations:
(Mad Men, 2009) or (Sex Education, 2019)

 

Radio Broadcasts

Use this format for radio programmes listened to live, on catch-up and on streaming services like Box of Broadcasts (BoB). References should consist of the following elements:

• Series title (if appropriate) (in italics)
• Episode number (if appropriate)
• Episode title (in italics)
• Year (in brackets)
• Channel
• [Type of medium from which it was listened to]
• Day and Month of Broadcast

If listened to online, also include the following:

• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example References:
The Friday Play. Ruby on Tuesday. (2003). BBC Radio 4. [Radio]. 8 August.
or
An Obsessive Type: The Tale of the Doves Typeface. (2016). BBC Radio 4. [Radio]. 28 July. Available from: https://learningonscreen.ac.uk/ondemand/index.php/prog/0CF69D70?bcast=122181032 [Accessed 10 July 2023].

Example Citations:
(The Friday Play, Ruby on Tuesday, 2003) or (An Obsessive Type: The Tale of the Doves Typeface, 2016)

Interviews on TV & Radio

Use this format for interviews with individuals broadcast as a part of a TV or radio programme. References should consist of the following elements:

• Name of person interviewed
• Year (in brackets)
• Interview by name of interviewer
• Programme title (in italics)
• Channel
• [Type of medium from which it was viewed]
• Day and Month of Broadcast

If viewed / listened to online, also include the following:

• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example References:
McMaster, B. (2003). Interview by Mariella Frostrup. The Radio 2 Arts Programme. BBC Radio 2. [Radio]. 6 September.
or
Shulman, A. (2016). Interview by Richard Macer. Absolutely Fashion: Inside British Vogue. BBC2. [Television]. 11 September. Available from: https://learningonscreen.ac.uk/ondemand/index.php/prog/0D70CAEE?bcast=122484384 [Accessed 15 June 2023].

Example Citations:
(McMaster, 2003) or (Shulman, 2016)

Production of a Play

References should consist of the following elements:

• Playwright's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of performance (in brackets)
• Title (in italics)
• Directed by name
• Performance company
• Performance venue
• Location of performance
• [Date performance viewed]

Example Reference:
Shakespeare, W. (2008). Hamlet. Directed by Gregory Doran. Royal Shakespeare Company. The Courtyard Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon. [24 July 2008]

Example Citation:
(Shakespeare, 2008)

 

Dance Productions

References should consist of the following elements:

• Choreographer's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of performance (in brackets)
• Title (in italics)
• Directed by name (if appropriate)
• Performance company
• Performance venue
• Location of performance
• [Date performance viewed]

Example Reference:
Bourne, M. (2019). Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake. New Adventures. Mayflower Theatre, Southampton. [19 February 2019]

Example Citation:
(Bourne, 2019)

Musical Recordings

References should consist of the following elements:

• Recoding Artist's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year (in brackets)
• Title (in italics)
• Composed by name (if appropriate)
• [medium]
• Place of production (if known):
• Producing organisation

Example References:
The Cure. (1992). Wish. [compact disc]. London: Fiction Records
or
Beyoncé. (2016). Lemonade. [mp3]. New York: Parkwood Entertainment.

Example Citation:
(The Cure, 1992) or (Beyoncé, 2016)

Song Lyrics

References should consist of the following elements:

• Songwriter's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year (in brackets)
• Song title (in italics)
• [lyrics]
• Place of distribution (if known):
• Distribution company or label

If found online, also include the following:

• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example References:
Taupin, B. (1973). Candle in the wind. [lyrics]. MCA Records.
or
Bowie, D. (1971). Life on Mars? [lyrics]. Available from: http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/davidbowie/lifeonmars.html [Accessed 14 October 2023].

Example Citation:
(Taupin, 1973) or (Bowie, 1971)

Acts of Parliament

References should consist of the following elements:

• Title of the Act and Year (in italics)
• Chapter number of the Act; abbreviated to ‘c. (in brackets)
• Place of publication
• Publisher

Example References:
The Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974. (c.37). London: HMSO.
or
Disability Discrimination Act 1995. (c.50). London: The Stationary Office.

Example Citations:
(The Health and Safety at Work etc. Act 1974) or (Disability Discrimination Act 1995)

 

UK Case Law

References should consist of the following elements:

• Parties in the case (in italics)
• Year (in brackets)
• Abbreviation of law report page

Example References:
Monroe v Hopkins. (2017). EWHC 433 (QB).
or
Leigh & Sillivan Ltd v Aliakmon Shipping Co Ltd. (1986). AC 785 (HL).

Example Citations:
(Monroe v Hopkins, 2017) or (Leigh & Sillivan v Aliakmon Shipping Co Ltd, 1986)

 

Patents

References should consist of the following elements:

• Originator
• Name of applicant
• Year of publication (in brackets)
• Tile of patent (in italics)
• Series designation which may include full date

Example Reference:
Philip Morris Inc. (1981). Optical perforating apparatus and system. European patent application 0021165 A1. 1981-01-07.

Example Citation:
(Philip Morris Inc., 1981)

Reports from Government / Industry, etc.

References should consist of the following elements:

• Author's Family Name, Initial(s)
• Year of publication (in brackets)
• Title of report (in italics)
• Place of publication: (if available)
• Publisher

If accessed online, also include the following:

• [online].
• Available from: Web Address
• [Accessed Date].

Example References:
Mowlam, A. (2012). Active at 60: local evaluation research: final report. London: Department for Work and Pensions.
or
Fisher, A. (2018). Improving diversity in beauty. London: Mintel [online]. Available from: http://academic.mintel.com/display/878891/ [Accessed 31 August 2023].

Example Citations:
(Mowlam, 2012, p.13) or (Fisher, 2018)

Works by an Author with a Named Translator

List the author of the work before the translator - for the in text citation use the author’s name and the date. References should consist of the following elements:

• Author’s Family Name, Initial(s)
• and
• Translator’s Family Name, Initial(s)
• (trans)
• Year of publication (in brackets)
• Title of book (in italics)
• Place of publication
• Publisher

Example Reference:
Ibsen, H. and McFarlene, J. (trans). (1981). Four major plays. London: Methuen.

Example Citation:
(Ibsen, 1981, p.125)

Your Own Translations

If you reference a source written in a language other than English in your reference list then you can either write the title in the original language, or an English translation with the language acknowledged. You will need to decide which you prefer and then use it consistently, for example:

Cabañas Bravo, M. (2008). Arte, poder y sociedad en la España de los siglos XV a XX. Madrid: Consejo superior de investigaciones cientificas.
or
Cabañas Bravo, M. (2008). Art, power and society in Spain in the fifteenth to the twentieth centuries. (in Spanish). Madrid: Consejo superior de investigaciones cientificas.
 

If you reference a source written in a language with a non-roman alphabet, e.g. Arabic, Chinese, Russian, etc. you will need to use a standard transliteration scheme to write the title in your reference list. For example:

Zhuō, R. (2019). Yě shòu xiōng měng: Wài tān “bǎi wù qū”. Yì Shù Jiè: LEAP [online]. Available from: http://www.leapleapleap.com/2019/07/beastly-an-opera-for-animals-at-rockbund-shanghai/?lang=zh-hans [Accessed 12 November 2023].
 

Follow the referencing guidance for the type of media you have translated from - e.g. book, journal article, website, etc.