Skip to Main Content AUB

AUB

Photography: Journals & Magazines

Journals & Magazines

📚Journals and Magazines

The Library offers access to a wide range of specialist publications. Essential research sources that your course will expect you to engage with.

💻Online & 📖Print

Publications are available either as eJournals (Online) or in Print within the Library. Many titles are accessible in both formats.

Some online resources only allow you to Browse, meaning you will not have full digital access to the content. However, Print copies are usually available in the Library.

🎓Academic vs 📰Non-academic

Academic Journals feature articles written by scholars and researchers. These are often peer-reviewed PR🎓, meaning they have been evaluated by other experts in the field before publication.

Magazines (non-academic publications) are typically written by professionals or journalists. They focus more on industry practice than scholarly research.

🤔Should I use Magazines or Journals?
The type of publication you use may depend on the unit you are studying, as a general rule:

Theory-based units may require a stronger emphasis on peer-reviewed PR🎓journal articles.

Practice-based units usually benefit from insights found in professional magazines.

A balanced approach, drawing from both types can often enrich your work. With some critical thinking, you can apply theory to almost anything you find in your research.

If you are still unsure, ask the unit tutor or your subject librarian.

📄Full text vs 🔍Abstracts

Full text articles allows you to read them in full, much like an eBook, so you are reading the text on screen in its entirety, as it was printed in the journal/magazine.

Abstracts provide a brief description of the article and will not always allow you to read the article in full text.

🚫Trouble Accessing Content?

Access may vary depending on the resource:

Some online resources only allow you to Browse, meaning you will not have full digital access to the content. However, Print copies are usually available in the Library.

eJournals and databases may provide full-text access for a certain year range or only offer Abstracts.

Print resources may cover different time periods than Online versions.

If you cannot find what you need, try switching formats, between Print and Online and vice versa.

Still stuck? Contact your Subject Librarian or you can request resources through an inter-library loan.

The Afronauts /

By: De Middel, Cristina, 1975-

Recommended Journals & Magazines

8 Magazine (Archive)

Adbusters

Aesthetica

Afterimage : the journal of media arts and cultural criticism PR🎓

Another

Aperture

Aperture (Photobook review)

Black Camera PR🎓

Blackink

Blindspot (Archive)

British Journal of Photography

C Photo (Archive)

Camera Austria

Cameracraft

Camerawork Magazine & (Fourcorners Archive)

Candy - the first transversal style magazine

Communication Arts

Creative Camera / Dpict (Archive)

Discursos Fotográficos PR🎓

Exit Magazine

F22 Magazine (Archive)

FOAM

GUP (Archive)

History of Photography

Hotshoe

i-D

International Journal of the Image PR🎓

Journal of Popular Culture PR🎓

Journal of Visual Culture PR🎓

Katalog Journal

Leica Photography (Archive)

Online | Physical

Lurzers International

Media Practice and Education (Formerly Journal of Media Practice) PR🎓

Membrana (Archive) PR🎓

Ojode Pez : Documentary Photography (Archive)

Philosophy of Photography PR🎓

Photographica PR🎓

Photographies PR🎓

Photography and Culture PR🎓

Photoresearcher

Photoworks

Portfolio (Archive)

Purple Magazine

Riposte (Magazine for Women)

Royal Photographic Society Archive

Self Service

Source

Ten 8 (Archive)

The Photographer

Vis a Vis (Archive)

WE ARE : the RPS Women in Photography Magazine

Zoom (Archive)

Finding Journal Articles

Search the Publication finder by title to find electronic versions of individual journal/magazines.

To search generally on a topic, use Search Plus across the entire Library's eJournals and database collection. Narrow the search by selecting the All Filters button and then specific resources on the right.

Google Scholar

Search for journal articles across and beyond AUB Library's holdings

Broader Internet Resources

This list offers a range of resources that are accessible on the web, but not subscribed to by the library - if the Journals and Databases do not have what you are looking for, you may be able to find useful information here. This is not a complete list of our online resources, but a taste of what the internet has to offer.

American Suburb X
Its mission is to provide, educate and titillate those who are obsessed with visual culture and all of its beautiful moving parts.

Art Directors Guild
Comprised of Art Directors, Graphic Artists, Illustrators, Matte Artists, Model Makers, Scenic Artists, Set Designers and Title Artists.

Ars Electronica
A worldwide unique platform for art, technology and society.

Association of Photographers
A not-for-profit company that exists as a lobbying, promoting, educating and networking organisation for professional photography.

Autograph
Championing the work of artists who use photography and film to highlight questions of race, representation, human rights and social justice.

Black Is
Black Is publishes the stories and the work of Black photographers from around the world, because one experience does not speak for all.

BWGallerist
Promoting fine art photography with special emphasis on Black and White photography.

The British Institute of Professional Photography
An international organisation with over 100 years of experience in supporting and networking photographers.

British Press Photographers' Association
Formed in 1984 by a small group of Fleet Street photographers to showcase the work that they were so passionate about.

British Society of Underwater Photographers
A not-for-profit membership organisation that promotes all aspects of underwater photography.

Burn Magazine
An evolving journal for emerging photographers.

Camerapixo
International photography and inspiring photographers around the world.

Dodho
Promoting the work and projects of professional and emerging photographers from around the world.

European Audiovisual Observatory
The Observatory aims at promoting greater transparency and a clearer understanding of the ways in which the audiovisual industries in Europe function, both from an economic and legal point of view.

The Fashionisto
Website highlighting fasion editorials, campaigns and models - companion website to Fashion Gone Rogue

Fashion Gone Rogue
Fashion Gone Rogue was created in 2008 to highlight editorials, campaigns and fashion models.

Feature Shoot
Showcases the work of international emerging and established photographers who are transforming the medium through compelling, cutting-edge projects.

F eminist Frequency
Analyzes modern media’s relationship to societal issues such as gender, race, and sexuality.

F-STOP Magazine
An online photography magazine featuring contemporary photography from established and emerging photographers from around the world.

Fraction Magazine
Featuring the best of contemporary photography, bringing together diverse bodies of work by established and emerging artists from around the globe.

Fresh Eyes
Since 2019, has celebrated the best photography talent in Europe. It is a guide book presenting the greatest 100 emerging image makers the continent has to offer.

International Center of Photography
The world’s leading institution dedicated to the practice and understanding of photography and the reproduced image in all its forms.

JPG Magazine
For photographers who have found themselves online and would like to share with, and learn from, other photographers.

The Knowledge Online
Choose from over 20,000 UK and international production suppliers.

Lens - New York Times
The New York Times photography blog, showcasing Times photographers work and interesting photography from around the internet.

Lens Culture
One of the most comprehensive and far-reaching resources for discovering contemporary photography talent around the world.

Lenscratch
A daily journal that explores contemporary photography and offers opportunities for exposure and community.

Lomography
Website of the International Lomographic Society and the largest analogue photography community, site and store in the world.

Models.com
Offers great content that revolves around telling us which models are trending in the industry in various categories.

Moscow House of Photography
Includes works of the classic of Russian photography and supports a number of contemporary Russian photographers and artists.

Musee Magazine
Encompassing all genres from the photo-world’s beloved masters to the new, exciting, and unexpected.

Nature Photographers Network
Focus on the art and technique of nature, wildlife, and landscape photography.

New York Institute of Photography
Provide the highest level of distance education training in the art, technique, and business of photography.

ND Magazine
Only one mission of this initiative: to promote photography and photographers.

Petapixel
Our goal is to inform, educate, and inspire in all things photography-related. Focused on tech mainly, but broad ranging.

The Photoblographer
Photography blog covering tech developments, tips and reviews.

Photo District News (PDN) Online
The award-winning monthly magazine for the professional photographer, covering the professional photographic industry for over two decades.

Photo-eye
Online photography bookstore, but with in depth reviews and interviews.

Photofusion
Photofusion provides a diverse range of photographic services that continually respond to the revolution and evolution of lens-based imagery.

Photographie
French photography magazine (use Chrome and auto translate)

The Photographic Journal
Boundary-pushing images that connect on a human level helping the creative community better serve each other as mutual sources of inspiration.

Picture Research Association
Encourages active picture researchers, picture editors and picture managers.

Royal Photographic Society
Exists to promote photography and image-making to support photographers in realising their potential, irrespective of their level of knowledge, equipment or skills.

Screenskills
The industry-led skills body for the UK's screen-based creative industries.

Society of Motion Picture Still Photographers
Organization dedicated to the art of motion picture still photography

Squaremag
Online downloadable magazine focused on square format photography.

The World Photography Organisation
A global platform for photography initiatives. Working across up to 180 countries, our aim is to raise the level of conversation around photography.

Trans On Screen
A directory for trans+ and non-binary professionals in film and TV

Zonezero
The oldest website dedicated to photography that is still updating.

Databases

Databases allow you to search across various journals with a single search, including journals that are not recommended on this page.

The databases listed below are useful for finding scholarly information about photography and visual culture.

Each database searches across different journal content, so it will benefit your research to search across a number of them.

Art and Architecture Source

Arts & Humanities Database

ARTbibliographies Modern

Gale General Onefile

IngentaConnect Journals
Including Intellect Journals

JSTOR

Project Muse

Sage Journals Online

Taylor & Francis Online

Social Science Database
Broad coverage of a wide range of social science disciplines.

A full list of every resource that the Library has access to can be found on the A-Z of Databases

Database / Journal / Article

Database / Journal / Article highlights an article within your specialism, while also showing you what journal and database the article can be accessed through.

Database: Art and Architecture Source

Journal : Aperture

Article: Fujii M. (2020). Fumi Ishino: Home is Somewhere Else. Aperture. (238):64-71.

Abstract: The article offers information related to the works of Japanese photographer Fumi Ishino and mentions about his works like book "Loom" which contains collection of photographs taken entirely in Japan.

'This slight but powerful sense of unease suffuses Ishino’s images, that of witnessing the familiar transform into the strange.'

http://fumiishino.com/