Library Search: Photography: Home

On This Guide

Home
Explore the Library print and eBook collection.

Journals & Magazines
Explore journal and magazine collections through databases and online.

Film & Visual Resources
Access visual and commercial media resources, such as sound effects, streaming films and still images.

Finding Print Books

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Film & Animation

Photography books start at 770 on the first floor of the Library.

If you want to know more about the numbering system, check the Finding Print Books tab in the Searching Books & eBooks box.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

Featured Books

Searching Books & eBooks

To find print books use the search bar to the right,
to help you locate them refer to the
Finding Print Books tab above.

Some books are only available as eBooks. To find eBooks, search the collections below or use Library Search Plus.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 eBooks covering a range of subjects from art & design to technology.

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Over 170 books across disciplines, combining visual inspiration with practical advice, research techniques and more...

EBSCO e-Books This link opens in a new window
A large collection of freely available eBooks on a broad range of subjects, from art and architecture to science and medicine.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Thousands of eBooks across various disciplines.

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Collection of eBooks across film, performing arts, cultural studies, history and philosophy.

When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.

770	Photography	778.8	Experimental Photo.
770.1	Photography Theory	778.92	Portrait Photography
770.15	Optics	778.921	Women Photography
770.2	Photography Business	778.925	Children Photography
770.28	Techniques and Processes	778.93	Landscape Photography
770.3	Dictionaries	778.932	Nature Photography
770.69	Individual Works	778.935	Still Life Photography
770.692	Doc and Photojournalism	778.94	Architecture Photo.
770.9	History	778.99355	War Photography
770.93	Landscape Photography	778.9>	Various Genres
770.94>	National Photography	779	Photography Collections
771	Photography equipment	779.07>	Instant Photography
771.3	Cameras and Lenses	779.2	Human Body
778.7	Lighting

All book spines are labelled with a decimal number corresponding to a particular subject. The numbers increase gradually when moving from book to book from left to right along each shelf.

The number is followed by 3 letters, usually corresponding to the first three letters within the authors surname (770.1 SON for Susan Sontag).

Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Reference resource covering all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to date.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Over 200 dictionaries and reference e-books. Click on 'Show books in my subscription' to view titles which have full-text access.