Library Search: Games Art & Design: Home

On This Guide

Home
Explore the Library print and eBook collection.

Journals & Magazines
Explore journal and magazine collections through databases and online.

Film & Visual Resources
Access visual and commercial media resources, such as sound effects, streaming films and still images.

Finding Print Books

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Animation & General

Computer games can be found at 006.648
Computer game culture can be found at 306.487
Animation starts at 791.434

If you want to know more about the numbering system, check the Finding Print Books tab in the Searching Books & eBooks box.

Featured Books

Computer games as landscape art

Gaming at the edge : sexuality and gender at the margins of gamer culture

The Video Game Explosion : A History from PONG to PlayStation and Beyond

Collaborative Worldbuilding for Video Games

Mortal Kombat : Games of Death

How Video Games Impact Players : The Pitfalls and Benefits of a Gaming Society

The Queer Games Avant-Garde : How LGBTQ Game Makers Are Reimagining the Medium of Video Games

Ecogames : Playful Perspectives on the Climate Crisis

Narrative Design for Mobile and Live Games

Video Game Characters and Transmedia Storytelling : The Dynamic Game Character

Gaming and Extremism : The Radicalization of Digital Playgrounds

Gaming Representation : Race, Gender, and Sexuality in Video Games

Playing with Religion in Digital Games

Playing Dystopia : Nightmarish Worlds in Video Games and the Player's Aesthetic Response

Feminism in Play

The Art of Videogames

Costume Design for Video Games : An Exploration of Historical and Fantastical Skins

Level up! the Guide to Great Video Game Design

Searching Books & eBooks

To find print books use the search bar to the right,
to help you locate them refer to the
Finding Print Books tab above.

Some books are only available as eBooks. To find eBooks, search the collections below or use Library Search Plus.

Ebook Central
A comprehensive collection of thousands of eBooks, covering a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, art and design, cultural studies, drama, history, music, philosophy, psychology, religion and technology. Great for multidisciplinary research and exploring many topics in-depth.

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
Searchable collection of books packed with practical tools, guidance, and inspiration for students on practice-led visual arts courses, offering advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.

EBSCO eBooks
A large collection of freely available eBooks on a broad range of subjects, from art and architecture to science and medicine.

JSTOR
Full-text scholarly journal archive across all fields and disciplines, including art, design, history, literature, economics, health, psychology, politics, law, education, and the sciences. In addition to thousands of journal articles, JSTOR also provides access to collections of ephemera like pamphlets, posters and comics; as well as artists books, underground newspapers and magazines, and the Artstor image collection.

Project Muse
Full-text scholarly journal archive content published by some of the world's leading university presses. Coverage includes film, theatre and the performing arts, cultural studies, history and philosophy.

When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.

001.56	Semiotics	701.1	Art Theory
004	Computers	709.2	Mixed Media/Digital Artists
006.6	Computer Graphics	720.1	Architecture Theory
006.648	Computer Games	743.4	Life Drawing
302.23	New Media	770.69	Photographers
306.4	Popular Culture	791.43	Film
306.487	Computer Games Sociology	791.432	Scriptwriting (Film)
371.3	Study Skills	791.434	Animation
398	Folklore	791.434601	Experimental Animation
646	Fashion/Costume	801	Theory of Writing
		809.923	Narrative Theory

All book spines are labelled with a decimal number corresponding to a particular subject. The numbers increase gradually when moving from book to book from left to right along each shelf.

The number is followed by 3 letters, usually corresponding to the first three letters within the authors surname (791.4301 MUL for Laura Mulvey). The three letters within the 791.437 section correspond to the film title. (791.437 GUA for Guardians of the Galaxy)

Oxford Art Online
Comprehensive reference resource covering all aspects of the visual arts from prehistory to the current time. Features entries on artists, architects, craftsmen, movements, locations, and periods, as well as bibliographies for further research and images. Great for art history and critical context research.
Oxford Reference
A comprehensive resource of specialist dictionaries and reference works covering a wide range of disciplines, including the Oxford English Dictionary. Ideal for finding precise, discipline-specific definitions and technical terms in fields such as history, law, philosophy, music, literature, medicine, and more.

Dictionary of Film Studies

Dictionary of Media & Communication

Dictionary of Social Media

Dictionary of Media Studies +

Encyclopedia of Aesthetics (2 ed.)

The Oxford Companion to the Photograph

Your Subject Librarian

Alan Turner

He/him

Email Me

Subjects: Animation Production, Commercial Photography, Creative Technologies, Film Production, Games Art & Design, Photography, Visual Effects

What does your Subject Librarian do?

Your Subject Librarian can help with:

Conducting research and finding high-quality sources

Using information resources and search tools effectively

Referencing, from in-text citations to your bibliography

Researching EDI?

1. Contact your Subject Librarian - they will direct you to appropriate resources and discuss strategies to find what you need.

2. Browse the selection of websites specific to Games Design in the tab above. (A small selection of Internet resources)

3. Explore the Main EDI Homepage, covering EDI research across all Subjects at AUB.

Able Gamers
Our mission, creating opportunities that enable play in order to combat social isolation, foster inclusive communities, and improve the quality of life for people with disabilities.
BAME in Games
BAME in Games, also known as BiG, is a grass-roots, advocacy group, dedicated to improving ethnic diversity and encouraging minorities to work within the games and broader entertainment industry. Founded in 2016, BiG has since developed into a professional network, celebrating and cultivating diverse talent within the UK. As an advocacy group, BiG is a volunteer-led organisation, open to everyone who cares about equality within the industry.
Black girl gamers
We are an award winning community powered organisation that advocates for diversity, inclusion and equity in the Gaming industry
Diversity and Inclusion Directory
We've mapped hundreds of D&I organisations, initiatives, tools, and services across the UK in the tech industry (website is moving, but the resources are still incredibly helpful)
Gaming the mind
champions mental health within the video gaming community. We believe in the transformative power of video games and their potential to contribute positively to mental well-being.
Gaymingmag.com
Home of queer geek culture
Intogames
We inspire and nurture talent at every level to create a fair pathway for skill development in the UK games and immersive industries - it’s time to press start on your career in games.
LGBTQ Video Game Archive
Documenting the history of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer content in games.
Muslamicmakers
We are a community of Muslim Changemakers helping Muslims level up across the tech industry and beyond.
POC in play
POC in Play is an independent organisation creating a range of initiatives and programme of events designed to increase the visibility and representation of People of Colour in the video games industry. We aim to work with industry, educators and other diversity organisations to create more opportunities for all.
Raise the game
RaiseTheGame is a collaborative and high-impact pledge to improve equality, diversity and inclusion in the games industry - creating cultures where everyone belongs, voices are heard and ideas can thrive.
Special Effect.org.uk
We’re transforming the lives of people with physical challenges right across the world through the innovative use of technology. At the core of this mission is our work to optimise inclusion, enjoyment and quality of life by helping people control video games to the best of their abilities for as long as they need us.
UKIE - DIversity
A diverse games industry is a more successful one. That's why we're campaigning to make the UK games industry more equal and inclusive to bring the valuable perspectives of people across society into our sector.
Women in games
We are activists. We believe that getting more women into games and esports should be framed as a national, international and strategic priority, a business case for stronger teams, better insights, innovative new products. We believe in more people, more diversity and more perspectives.