Library Search: Games Art & Design: Film & Visual Resources

Films & Audiovisual Resources

The Library can provide you with access to a wide range of film and audiovisual resources via online streaming platforms and through traditional media forms (DVD & Blu-ray).

Blu-ray & DVD Collection

Blu-ray & DVDs
Finding them

Search the collection by director, genre or specific film title using the search below.

Narrow the search by selecting Locations > DVD Bay to the left of your results.

Blu-rays and DVDs can be found in the centre of the library on the ground floor, organised in numerical sequence.

If you are looking for a particular subject, the numbers match the printed book collection. So you can find Animation at 791.434.

The letters after the number are the first 3 letters from the directors surname. Films by Spike Lee can be found at 791.43 LEE.

If you cannot find what you are looking for, check Box of Broadcasts or Kanopy or ask a member of staff.

646	Fashion & Costume
700.7	Student show reels
709	Art History / Theory
709.2	Artist profiles
720	Architecture
741.6	Graphic Arts and Illustration
745	Design
746	Textiles
747	Interior Design
770	Photography
780	Music Documentary
791.43	Feature Films
791.434	Animation
791.43601	Experimental
791.43655	Documentary
791.4375	Short Films
791.45	TV Series
792	Theatre
793	Dance
822	Shakespeare

Watch this...

Screenplays & Scripts

Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism This link opens in a new window
A broad collection of online searchable Faber & Faber Screenplays.

The Library collection of scripts and screenplays is found at 791.437

Theory and techniques of screenplays and script writing is found at 791.432

You can also find material on writing and narrative at 808.02

The following websites contain links to various scripts and screenplays, although some are simply transcribed from the films themselves.

BBC Writers Room

The Daily Script

Internet Archive

Internet Movie Script Database

No Film School - features free downloadable scripts for some articles.

Screenplayed

Scripts.com

Script-o-rama

Script Reader Pro

Scriptslug

Simply Scripts

TV Writing

If a script is available commercially and you feel we should have it within our collection. Contact your Subject Librarian.

Journal of Screenwriting.

Feature Films, Documentaries & Shorts

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
Streaming film and television archive. Use the drop down 'search options' and search by title if looking for a specific film or programme.

Kanopy This link opens in a new window
Streaming film and video service with interesting categories you wont find on Netflix.

Commercial Media

Stash Media This link opens in a new window
Archive of adverts, music videos and short form video focused on VFX and Animation. Click on LOGIN and then LOGIN for full access.

History of Advertising Trust
Archive of streamable adverts.

LS:N Global This link opens in a new window
A trends and insight network highlighting what is new and innovative in consumer needs and lifestyle behaviour.

WGSN This link opens in a new window
A professional fashion, trend forecasting and style analysis site. Great for on trend visual culture and colour palettes.

WGSN Interiors This link opens in a new window
Insight and inspiration to inform design. Great for creative decisions around colour and layout.

Sound Effects

British Library Sounds - *Temporarily down due to security attack* This link opens in a new window
Collections of unique sound recordings from all over the world.

BBC Sound Effect Archive
Sound Effects available to download for use under the terms of the RemArc Licence. The Sound Effects can be used for personal, educational or research purposes only.

Learning

LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning offers training videos that cover a wide range of software, business and creative skills, from 3D animation to web development. Content is added on a weekly basis so that the videos covering the latest version of the software are available. You can choose to watch short videos to provide a quick solution or follow an entire course. There are currently over 1,500 courses and over 85,000 individual tutorials. Tutorials are presented by top professionals with an ability to share their knowledge and industry experience.

Animated Britain
An animated portrait of a nation, brought to life frame by painstaking frame.

Animate Projects Archive
A digital archive of films, video interviews, documentation, tests, essays and interviews.

BBC Archive
Collections documenting the BBC’s broadcasting history.

BAFTA
A hub for inspirational career advice from the very best in film, games and television

BFI Player
The best from the BFI, national and regional archives - including 120 years of Britain on film.

British Artists Film and Video Database
Experimental and avant-garde film, video art, artists' television made by British and British-based artists.

EU Screen
Insight into the social, cultural, political and economic events that have shaped the 20th and 21st centuries.

European Film Gateway (EFG)
Films, images and texts from selected collections of 38 film archives across Europe

Film Archives Online
Provides free access to moving image collections of film archives from all over Europe.

Getty Images
Requires payment for use in commercial projects. Including the ITV and Channel 4 news collection.

Imperial War Museum Moving Image Archive
Archive of footage of historical conflict.

Internet Archive
A collection of over 4,000 feature films, shorts, silent films and trailers.

Library of Congress National Screening Room
Designed to make otherwise unavailable movies freely accessible to the viewers worldwide.

Moving Image Gateway
This Gateway includes 1,700 websites relating to moving image and sound materials.

National Film Board of Canada
Featuring over 2,000 films, excerpts, trailers and interactive works.

Omeleto
Sundance winners, Oscar nominations and critically-acclaimed filmmakers.

Pathe Films
85,000 films of historical and cultural significance.

Zippy Frames
Promoting European and Independent Animation worldwide.

Artstor This link opens in a new window
Contains over 1.8 million digital images relating to the arts.

Arts Institute Chicago Image Collections
Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection.

British Museum
Access to objects in the collection.

Eastman Museum
Photographic objects dating from the introduction of the medium in 1839 through to the present day.

Europeana
Explore 57,279,027 artworks, artefacts, books, films and music from European museums, galleries, libraries and archives

Film Grab
Search thousands of film stills from thousands of movies, search by director, production designer, cinematographer or costumer designer.

Gallica
Gallica is the digital library of the National Library of France and its partners.

Getty Images
Requires payment for use in commercial projects. Including the ITV and Channel 4 news collection.

J. P. Getty Museum
Getty is a leading global arts organization committed to exhibiting, conserving, and understanding the world’s artistic and cultural heritage.

Hyman Collection
Collection of artists working in photography as well as documentary photographers.

Library of Congress
Include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings.

Magnum Photos
The Magnum Photos library is a living archive updated regularly with new work from across the globe.

The MET Museum
Huge collection of historic photographic images including images from Alphonse Bertillon

National Portrait Gallery - Photography collection
More than 250,000 original photographic images of which at least 130,000 are original negatives.

NY Public Library Digital Collections
Explore 861,907 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections.

The Victoria and Albert Museum
Search 1,226,190 objects and 807,399 images from the V and A's collections.

Wellcome Collection
Broad collection of historic photographic images and documents including Francis Galton

VADS (Visual Arts Data Service) This link opens in a new window
Images from applied arts, architecture, design, fine art and media.

Short Films - Short Stories

The Library has a collection of short stories, which are great for studying short narrative, dialogue and characterisation.

Search the Library catalogue for 'Short Story' or 'Short Stories'

Also check this article on 28 brilliant films you can watch in the time it takes to eat lunch

Games Art & Design: Film & Visual Resources