Library Search: Acting: Scholarly Sources

What are Scholarly Sources?

Information sources that have been written by academics, experts or creative practitioners in a particular field or discipline, and published in books, conference publications and academic journal articles, can usually be considered scholarly.

They may report on original research, review books and performances, address current issues facing the contemporary performing arts, or examine events through the lenses of history and theory. They are your best source of information about practice and industry, as well as issues pertaining to the creative process, applied theatre, gender, race, politics and cultural heritage within the performing arts.

Google Scholar

Use Google Scholar to search for journal articles across and beyond AUB Library's holdings

WorldCat

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat lets you find an item of interest and then locate a library near you that owns it.

Finding Online Articles

The recommended journals above are just a selection of the many journal publications you can access. Search the Full Text Finder to find more individual journal titles.

To start searching generally for articles on a topic, use Search Plus, which will search across most of the Library's eJournals, eBooks and journal search tools all in a single search:

Recommended Journals

New Theatre Quarterly

Studies in Musical Theatre

Studies in Theatre and Performance

Theatre Research International

Contemporary Theatre Review

Theatre, Dance and Performance Training

TDR: The Drama Review

RIDE: Research in Drama Education

Critical Studies & Performance Practice

Critical Studies & Performance Practice This link opens in a new window
This collection features over 400 academic books from the prestigious Methuen Drama and The Arden Shakespeare imprints. Together they offer invaluable critical, contextual and pedagogic content from leading voices in theatre, performance and Shakespeare studies. The collection also includes 60 actor training videos through PATAZ: Physical Actor Training - an online A-Z.

Research Methods in Theatre and Performance

This study investigates a range of current research domains, methodologies and methods in theatre and performance studies. Case studies provide evidence of the usefulness of certain methods for particular projects.

Very Short Introductions

Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Very Short Introductions offer concise and original introductions to a wide range of subjects. They combine facts, analysis, new insights, and enthusiasm and make often challenging topics highly readable to develop your core knowledge.

Databases

You can also search across various journals using specialist subject databases. Don't just stop at one when you're researching, as the content is likely to be different in each of them.

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of articles from over 160 journals, including Film Quarterly and Theatre Journal.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance Full Text This link opens in a new window
A great research tool for the study of theatre and the performing arts.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
A scholarly information resource for international film studies, entertainment films and personalities.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes the full text archives of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume published, along with thousands of books and other materials relevant for research. JSTOR now also provides access to the Artstor collection of digital images relating to the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
A full-text journal database of contemporary study in the arts and humanities. It also covers selected titles from related fields, such as women's studies.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
IngentaConnect Journals This link opens in a new window
A collection of 13 online journals available in full text which focusses on event management, education through art, writing and musical theatre. Click on 'Advanced Search' and then select 'Subscribed Titles' to search for articles available in full-text.
Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to titles including Contemporary Theatre Review and Studies in Theatre and Performance. Select the 'Only Content I Have Full Access To' option before searching.

A full list of every resource that the Library has access to can be found on the A-Z of Databases