Library Search: Acting: Home

On This Guide

Home
Introduction to support in the Library and how to find books and eBooks.

Scholarly Sources
Information about recommended academic journals and databases.

Specialist Resources
Textual and audio-visual resources for professional practice.

News, Reviews & Industry
Resources and weblinks for current practice and industry developments.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

BA (Hons) Acting

What Do Your Subject Librarians Do?

Your Subject Librarian can help with:

Conducting research and finding high-quality sources

Using information resources and search tools effectively

Referencing, from in-text citations to your bibliography

Symbols

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Performance

Featured Books

Finding Books & eBooks

Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search the Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read.

eBooks are also available through databases, which you can search separately:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of over 100,000 e-books which covers a wide range of subjects including anthropology, art and design, cultural studies, drama, history, music, philosophy, psychology, religion and technology.
Critical Studies & Performance Practice This link opens in a new window
This collection features over 400 academic books from the prestigious Methuen Drama and The Arden Shakespeare imprints. Together they offer invaluable critical, contextual and pedagogic content from leading voices in theatre, performance and Shakespeare studies. The collection also includes 60 actor training videos through PATAZ: Physical Actor Training - an online A-Z.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference books which focuses on literature and history, with smaller collections in the areas of drama, business, science and religion.

The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online.

To find a book in the Library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.

Click here to browse the newest print books in the Acting collection.

All book spines are labelled with a decimal number corresponding to a particular subject. The numbers increase gradually when moving from book to book from left to right along each shelf.

The number is followed by 3 letters, usually corresponding to the first three letters within the author’s surname (e.g. 792.028 TUC for Patrick Tucker).

001.4	Research & Study Skills
305	Gender
306	Cultural Theory
344.1	Entertainment Law
611 & 612	Human Anatomy & Physiology
646	Costume & Fashion
700	Art
791.43	Film & Cinema
791.43028	Actor Biographies
791.44	Radio
791.5	Circuses & Clowning
792	Theatre & Performance
792.01	Performing Arts Theory
792.02	Theatre Direction
792.027	Theatrical Make-up & Special Effects
792.028	Actors Theatre; Screen Acting
792.09	Theatre History
792.6	Musical Theatre
793.3	Mime
800	Literature
821	Poetry
822	Plays
900	History

Subject Librarian

Antonia Leak

she / her

Email Me

Subjects: Acting, Dance, Events Management, Illustration, Make-up for Media and Performance, Textiles

Subject Librarian

Linda Albin

Email Me

Subjects: Acting, Dance, Events Management, Illustration, Make-up for Media and Performance, Textiles