Library Search: Media, Marketing and Advertising: Home

On This Guide

Home
Introduction to support in the Library and how to find books and eBooks

Journals & Databases
Scholarly sources of information in academic journals to support your research

Market Research & Trends
Market research reports, trend forecasters, trade publications, data and statistics.

Visual & Design Research
Visual and interactive resources for creative design work and to support design thinking frameworks.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

BA (Hons) Media, Marketing and Advertising

Symbols

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Media, Marketing & Advertising:

Featured Books

What is post-branding? : how to counter fundamentalist marketplace semiotics

Break the Internet : in pursuit of influence

Hey whipple, squeeze this : the classic guide to creating great ads

Advertising and consumer society : a critical introduction

Badvertising : polluting our minds and fuelling climate chaos

The business of aspiration : how social, cultural, and environmental capital transforms brands

Consumer psychology : theories & applications

Brandsplaining : why marketing is still sexist and how to fix it

Consumer behaviour : applications in marketing

Finding Books & eBooks

The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online.

To find a book in the Library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.

Click here to browse the newest print books in the Library relating to Media, Marketing and Advertising.

Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search the Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read.

eBooks are also available through databases, which you can search separately:

Ebook Central
A comprehensive collection of thousands of eBooks, covering a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, art and design, cultural studies, drama, history, music, philosophy, psychology, religion and technology. Great for multidisciplinary research and exploring many topics in-depth.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
Searchable collection of books packed with practical tools, guidance, and inspiration for students on practice-led visual arts courses, offering advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.

Internet Archive - Open Library
UCL Press Open Access eBooks
Collection of free eBooks from UCL, including art and design titles, and books on social media, sustainability and the built environment.

When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.

001.56	Semiotics
303.375	Propaganda
303.483	Social Media Theory
306.1	Subcultures
655.2	Typography
658.827	Branding
658.83	Consumer Behaviour
658.84	Social Media Marketing
659.1	Advertising
701.1	Art Theory
741	Illustration
741.61	Graphic Design Theory
741.67	Advertising Art
741.671	Packaging
745.2024	Sustainable Design
791.434	Animation
791.4332	Motion Graphics

Subject Librarian

Suzanna Hall

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Communication Design & Strategy, Content Creation with Marketing, Costume, Creative Writing, Design for Costume & Performance, Digital Fashion Innovation, Fashion, Fashion Communication, Fashion Management & Strategy, Graphic Design, Historical Costume, Media, Marketing & Advertising, Visual Communication

What Does Your Subject Librarian Do?

Your Subject Librarian can help with:

Conducting research and finding high-quality sources

Using information resources and search tools effectively

Referencing, from in-text citations to your bibliography