Interior Architecture & Design: Research & Practice

The Architects' Journal

Provides commentary and coverage on a range of professional issues plus access to the AJ Building Library and AJ Specification. Register on the AJ whilst on campus to get subscriber access to the full site.

AJ Specification

Covers design and realisation through the use of technology. Each issue focuses on a particular element or technology. AJ Specification is available in the Library, or online via the AJ Online website.

Digimap

Current and historical maps of the UK on a range of scales using Ordnance Survey data. You will need to register for an AUB account on first use.

Building Heights

An interactive map illustrating building density and other information.

WRLD 3D

A tool for 3D mapping and indoor mapping. You will need to create your own account.

SunCalc

An application to calculate sun movement.

Google Earth

3D representation of Earth build from satellite imagery.

AUB Materials Library

Located in the library, the AUB Materials Library is a collection of product samples such as ceramics, plastics, glass, paper, metal, timber, and much more. Students are welcome to explore and handle the collection at any time.

Users can also browse the materials online and learn more about them by using the Materials Library catalogue. To log in, click the “Sign in with Microsoft” button and use your AUB login details.

Material ConneXion

The library subscribes to Material ConneXion, a database of materials including detailed profiles, reports on applications and processes, and information about innovations and manufacture. To access, please register for a Material ConneXion account using your AUB email address.

The Stacks

The Stacks contains material deep dives, sustainability webinars, manufacturer highlights, trend reports, and much more, all written by the Material ConneXion research team. To access, please register for a Material ConneXion account using your AUB email address.

Other material discovery resources

Architonic - a platform exhibiting products, materials, and concepts for interior designers and architects

Material District - a digital materials library specialising in innovative materials and solutions

Stylepark - a product selector and magazine for architects and interior designers

Transmaterial - a database specialising in hi-tech materials and textiles for design

British Institute of Interior Design

Provides access to products and services directory as well as the CPD, education and knowledge platform. Requires registration (free for students).

 LS:N Global 

Available on-campus only. LS:N Global is a trends and insight network for consumer and lifestyle behaviour.

 WGSN Interiors 

Brings together analysis, insight, and inspiration to inform design, development, and marketing decisions.

 Mintel

Marketing research reports providing detailed analyses of UK consumer trends, including fashion retail reports and special reports covering British lifestyles.

Architonic

Platform exhibiting products, materials, and concepts for interior designers and architects.

Houzz

Website featuring interior design inspiration and products.

Domus

Catalogue of materials for interior design.

Latham's Digital Showroom

Digital collection of timber and other surfaces from James Latham.

Cadisch MDA

Digital display of the Cadisch MDA range of specialist architectural metals and meshes.

Stylepark 

Product selector and magazine for architects and interior designers.