Skip to Main Content AUB

Graphic Design: Home

On This Guide

Home
Introduction to support in the Library and how to find books and eBooks.

Journals & Databases
Information about recommended academic journals and databases.

Image & Film Research
Magazines, image databases, motion graphics, tutorials and video content. 

Graphic Design History
Archival collections and more for researching graphic design history.

Marketing & Industry Information
News, trade publications, market research reports, data and statistics.

Zines & Alternative Publishing
Online zines and alternative press content, and the Artists' Book collection in the Library.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

Symbols

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Graphic Design

  

Featured Books

Finding Books & eBooks

The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online.

To find a book in the Library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.

Click here to browse the newest print books in the Library on Graphic Design. 

Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search the Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read. 

eBooks are available through databases, which you can also search separately:

Archive of freely available eBooks, including a number of design titles. Create a free account for full access. Explore some of the best graphic design works in the Internet Archive via Archives.design.

When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.

001.56 Semiotics 
303.375 Propaganda
655 Printing History
655.2 Typography
655.7 Book Binding
658 Marketing Theory
659.1 Advertising Theory
741.6 Graphic Design
741.601 Graphic Design Theory
741.65 Zines
741.67 Advertising Art
741.671 Packaging
741.673 Logos and Trademarks
745.2024 Sustainable Design
791.4332 Motion Graphics

What Does Your Subject Librarian Do?

Your Subject Librarian can help with:

Conducting research and finding high-quality sources

Using information resources and search tools effectively

Referencing, from in-text citations to your bibliography