Library Search: Fashion: Home

On This Guide

Home
Introduction to support in the Library and how to find books and eBooks.

Journals & Databases
Recommended academic journals and databases.

Image & Film Research
Fashion magazines, image databases, runway footage and streaming video.

Fashion History Research
Archival databases and more for researching dress history.

News, Trends & Industry
Trend forecasting tools, and resources for keeping up with fashion news.

Sustainability Resources
Databases and tools for the study of sustainable fashion and textiles.

Visionaire, Zines & Artist Books
Zine, Visionaire and the Artists' Book collections in the Library and online.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

Symbols

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Fashion

Featured Books

The Intersection of Fashion and Disability : A Historical Analysis

Iris van Herpen : sculpting the senses

Inside the Westminster Menswear Archive

Hang-ups : reflections on the causes and consequences of fashion's 'western'-centrism

Ann Lowe : American couturier

Fluid : a fashion revolution

W : fifty years, fifty stories

Pierre Cardin : making fashion modern

The changing face of Burberry

Finding Books & eBooks

The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online.

To find a book in the Library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.

Click here to browse the newest print books in the Fashion collection.

Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search the Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read.

eBooks are also available through databases, which you can search separately:

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Fashion-specific eBook collection, containing over 100 fashion, costume and dress books.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Huge eBook collection, covering a wide variety of topics related to fashion, including dress history, business and sociology.
Fairchild Books Library This link opens in a new window
Digital textbooks covering fashion construction, draping, business management, marketing, promotion, pattern making, styling and more.

Internet Archive - Open Library
Archive of freely available eBooks, including a number of fashion and dress titles. Create a free account for full access.
MetPublications
Free eBook collection from the Met Costume Institute, available to download or read online.

When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.

646	Fashion and Fashion Designers
646.01	Fashion Theory
646.02	Fashion Industry
646.04	Fashion Illustration
646.06	Fashion Forecasting, Marketing & Merchandising
646.07	Sustainable Fashion
646.09	Fashion History
646.1	Fabrics
646.4	Pattern Cutting, Tailoring & Draping
646.4735	Uniforms
646.48	Footwear & Fashion Accessories
646.5	Hats & Millinery
646.72	Beauty, Cosmetics & Hair
739.27	Jewellery Design
746	Textiles
778.99646	Fashion Photography

Subject Librarian

Suzanna Hall

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Communication Design & Strategy, Costume, Creative Writing, Design for Costume & Performance, Fashion Communication, Fashion Design, Graphic Design, Historical Costume, Visual Communication

What Does Your Subject Librarian Do?

Your Subject Librarian can help with:

Conducting research and finding high-quality sources

Using information resources and search tools effectively

Referencing, from in-text citations to your bibliography