Library Search: Creative Writing: Scriptwriting & Audiovisual Sources

Scriptwriting Resources

Explore library resources for scriptwriting, including databases of exemplar film scripts and play texts and books to support you with constructing and writing scripts for stage and screen.

The Library can also provide you with access to a wide range of film, theatre, radio and audiovisual resources via online streaming platforms and through traditional media forms (DVD & Blu-ray), including media with award-winning scripts.

Film & Theatre Streaming Sources

Box of Broadcasts This link opens in a new window
TV and radio programmes, including films, theatrical and audioplays, interviews with writers, and more.
Digital Theatre Plus This link opens in a new window
Recordings of theatrical productions, documentaries set backstage and interviews with directors, writers and other practioners.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for award-winning film collections, including documentaries, world cinema and titles from the Criterion Collection.
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
Over 250 theatre productions on streaming video, as well as documentaries and interviews with artists, writers, designers and directors. Also includes the BBC Shakespeare collection.
Theatre Performance and Design Collection This link opens in a new window
Collection covering all aspects of theatre, from production and design to performance. Includes full video performances from the National Theatre, BroadwayHD and the Royal Shakespeare Company.

A24 Screenplay Collection

A24 Screenplay Collection
Selection of screenplay books from film production company A24. Each book includes the film’s script, original essays, exclusive extras, and more.

Recommended Books on Scriptwriting

Screenwriting : the sequence approach

Writing for Games : Theory and Practice

Writing for Stage and Screen : Creating a Perception Shift in the Audience

Do drama : how to stop watching TV drama - and start writing it

Character is structure : the insider's guide to screenwriting

Writing in coffee shops : confessions of a playwright

Scenewriting : the missing manual for screenwriters

Being there and the evolution of a screenplay : 3 draft scripts with commentary

How to write for television

Threshold Concepts for Screenwriters

Threshold Concepts for Screenwriters is a fantastic resource for building a foundation to start research. Watch the first video above or access the channel to view more.

Films Nominated for Screenwriting Awards

Sound of Metal

The Worst Person in the World

Minari

Licorice Pizza

Belfast

Once Upon a Time in Hollywood

Can You Ever Forgive Me?

Parasite

The Library has a large collection of DVDs. If you do not have a DVD or Blu-ray player, there are facilities in the Library that can be booked at the Library counter.

Search the collection by director, genre or specific film title using the search below. Narrow the search by selecting Locations > DVD Bay to the left of your results.

Blu-rays and DVDs can be found in the centre of the library on the ground floor, organised in numerical sequence. If you cannot find what you are looking for, remember to check Box of Broadcasts or Kanopy.

646	Fashion Documentary
709	Art History / Theory
770	Photography
780	Music Documentary
791.43	Feature Films
791.434	Animation
791.43601	Experimental
791.43655	Documentary
791.4375	Short Films
791.45	TV Series
792	Theatre
793	Dance
822	Shakespeare

Screenplays

Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury and Faber Screenplays and Criticism brings together a wide range of content to support studies of the moving image. It offers searchable access to screenplays, introductory overview articles with expert analysis of selected themes, and critical books on cinema, including coverage of practical techniques for filmmaking and screenwriting.

BBC Writers
Writing resource from the BBC, providing interviews and advice from writers for TV and radio, plus selected scripts from BBC programmes.
Internet Movie Script Database
One of the largest collection of movie scripts available anywhere on the web, with information about the screenwriters, genre and publication dates.
The Daily Script
Movie and TV scripts, presented in proper script format, with multiple drafts where possible.

Play Databases

Drama Online This link opens in a new window
Drama Online introduces new writers alongside the most iconic names in playwriting history, providing contextual and critical background through scholarly works and practical guides.

Black Plays Archive
An online catalogue for the first professional production of every African, Caribbean and Black British play produced in Britain.

Nick Hern Books Modern Plays Collection This link opens in a new window
Over 650 plays from many of the UK and Ireland’s preeminent playwrights. It offers a wide and varied range of award-winning and widely studied plays.
Oberon Books Collection This link opens in a new window
Specialising in drama and the performing arts, with a reputation for publishing challenging and compelling works. Over 500 titles, from ground-breaking British plays to the best of international drama and plays in translation.