Architecture: Professional & Ethical Practice

AJ Specification

Design and realisation through the use of technology, with a focus on a particular element or technology. Includes example costings breakdown in the BCIS Costs feature.

Building

Covers practice, issues, market intelligence, journalistic coverage, news, analysis, and data for the construction industry. 

BH Future Architects

A group run by AUB students which aims to showcase student work, promote events, share resources, network with local industry professionals, and generally create a supportive community for all the aspiring architects and designers in the area!

Their reading lists can be found on Keylinks.

AE Foundation – community of practitioners and those involved in architectural education to discuss current themes in architecture and related education

Afasia Archzine – blog about architecture and contemporary art

Atlas of places – collection of arts-based productions questioning the meaning of places

Drawing matter – organisation exploring the role of drawing in architectural thought and practice 

E-flux Architecture – archive of international critical discourse surrounding contemporary architecture, culture, and theory

Monoskop – educational resource and research platform for arts, culture, and humanities

Nowness – digital video website featuring art and design topics

VICE – articles relating to independent arts and pop-cultural matters

Architecture critics 

Alexandra Lange
'Alexandra Lange is a design critic. Her essays, reviews and profiles have appeared in numerous design publications including Architect, Harvard Design Magazine, and Metropolis, as well as in The Atlantic, New York Magazine, The New Yorker, and the New York Times. She is a columnist for Bloomberg CityLab, and has been a featured writer at Design Observer, an opinion columnist at Dezeen, and the architecture critic for Curbed.'

Justin Davidson for New York Magazine
'Justin Davidson has been New York Magazine’s architecture and classical-music critic since 2007 and was the recipient of the Pulitzer Prize for Criticism in 2002. He is the author of Magnetic City: A Walking Companion to New York.'

Kate Wagner for The New Republic
'Kate Wagner is an architectural critic. In 2016, she founded McMansionHell, a blog that roasts the world’s ugliest houses. Her writing has appeared in The Atlantic and The Baffler.'

Brick Development Association

Resources and information on brick construction with contemporary and historical examples of the use of brick.

Concrete Centre 

Includes a publications library covering concrete related issues including design guidance, technical and performance literature.

Material ConneXion

A database of physical materials as well as processes. Includes more than 10,000 innovative materials in various categories for architecture, industrial design, interior design, and textiles. Requires creating an account with your AUB email.

NBS Source

A directory for finding, selecting, and specifying products and manufacturers for projects.

Timber Development UK

Lots of information regarding all aspects of the use of timber in construction.

Royal Institute of British Architects

A global professional membership body for British architects.

Association of Consultant Architects

The national professional body representing consultant architects.

Architects' Registration Board

An independent regulator, established by Parliament as a statutory body to regulate the architects' profession in the UK.

Planning Portal

The national online planning application service, partnered with every local authority across England and Wales.