Library Search: Illustration: Home

On This Guide

Home
Introduction to support in the Library and how to find books and eBooks.

Scholarly Sources
Information about recommended academic journals and databases.

Visual Research
Magazines, image archives, motion graphics and video content.

Marketing & Industry Information
News, trade publications, market research reports, data, statistics and other information about industry.

Artists' Books & Zines
Online zines and alternative press content, and the Artists' Book collection in the Library.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

Symbols

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Illustration

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is a comprehensive resource offering instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.

Finding Books & eBooks

Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search the Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read.

eBooks are available through databases, which you can also search separately:

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of over 100,000 e-books which covers a wide range of subjects including anthropology, art and design, cultural studies, drama, history, music, philosophy, psychology, religion and technology.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is a comprehensive resource offering instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.

The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online.

To find a book in the library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.

Click here to browse the newest print books in the Illustration collection.

When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.

001.56	Semiotics
302.222	Visual Communication
306	Popular Culture
655.2	Typography
655.7	Book Binding
741	Drawing
741.53	Graphic Novels
741.59	Comic Books
741.6	Illustration and Illustrators
741.601	Illustration Theory
741.642	Children's Illustrated Books
741.64201	Children's Illustration Theory
741.65	ZInes
745.2024	Sustainable Design
808.036	Narrative Theory