Library Search: Design: Home

On This Guide

Home
Get started searching books and eBooks or get support from your Subject Librarian.

Journals & Databases
Information about recommended academic journals and databases.

Image & Film Research
Image archives and audiovisual content.

Materials & Design Practice
Information on the Materials Library collection and supporting databases for the study of material objects.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

BA (Hons) Design

Symbols

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Design

Finding Books & eBooks

The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online. Search the Library Catalogue below to find the books available in the Library and where you can find a book on the shelf.

Click here to browse some of the latest design books in the Library .

Use Library Search Plus to find our books available online only. eBooks can be downloaded, are searchable and provide tools for saving and managing. You can also access eBooks through individual eBook platforms like those below.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of over 100,000 e-books which covers a wide range of subjects including anthropology, art and design, cultural studies, drama, history, music, philosophy, psychology, religion and technology.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is a comprehensive resource offering instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.

When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.

001.6443	Computer Aided Design
006.696	3D Modelling
306.3	Consumer Culture
600	Technology
621.0228	Model Engineering
629.1	Transport Design
690	Building Construction
709	Art History
710	Environment Design
720	Architecture
741.6	Graphic Design
741.671	Packaging
745	Design
745.2	Product Design
745.2024	Sustainable Design
745.4	Design Aesthetics
745.501	Craft Theory
749	Furniture

Subject Librarian

Corin Peacock

they/them

Email Me

Subjects: Architecture, Design, Fine Art, Interior Architecture and Design, Modelmaking

What Does Your Subject Librarian do?

Your Subject Librarian can help with:

Conducting research and finding high-quality sources

Using information resources and search tools effectively

Referencing, from in-text citations to your bibliography

Design: Home