Library Search: Creative Direction: Home

On This Guide

Home

Introduction to support in the Library and how to find books and eBooks.

Journals & Databases

Information about recommended academic journals and databases.

Statistics & Sector News

Statistical sources and industry news.

Visual Resources

Access the Library's streaming services

Course Reading Lists

BA (Hons) Creative Direction

Symbols

Look for these symbols and more to find books relating to Creative Direction

Featured Books

Creative Direction in a Digital World: A Guide to Being a Modern Creative Director

Running a Creative Company in the Digital Age

Disruptive Branding

Inside Art Direction

Book of Ideas: a Journal of Creative Direction and Graphic Design

The Fundamentals of Marketing

Ideation: the Birth and Death of Ideas

Design for Emotion

Graphic Design Thinking: Beyond Brainstorming

Research, Development and Innovation in the Creative Industries: Reframing our Understanding of the Creative Economy

Design, visual communication and branding

Fundamentals of Project Management

Copywriting

The War of Art

The Brand Gap

Finding Books & eBooks

Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search the Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read.

eBooks are available through databases, which you can also search separately:

Ebook Central
A comprehensive collection of thousands of eBooks, covering a wide range of subject areas, including anthropology, art and design, cultural studies, drama, history, music, philosophy, psychology, religion and technology. Great for multidisciplinary research and exploring many topics in-depth.

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts
Searchable collection of books packed with practical tools, guidance, and inspiration for students on practice-led visual arts courses, offering advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.

Internet Archive - Open Library

Archive of freely available eBooks, including a number of design titles. Create a free account for full access. Explore some of the best graphic design works in the Internet Archive via Archives.design.

The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online.

To find a book in the Library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.

All book spines are labelled with a decimal number corresponding to a particular subject. The numbers increase gradually when moving from book to book from left to right along each shelf.

The number is followed by 3 letters, usually corresponding to the first three letters within the author’s surname (e.g. 792.028 TUC for Patrick Tucker).

001.4	Research & Study Skills
70	Journalism & Publishing
152	Perception Psychology
301	Sociology
302.2	Communication
306	Cultural Theory
340	Law
646.06	Fashion Forecasting & Marketing
646.72	Beauty, Cosmetics & Hair
655	Printing & Publishing
658	Business & Management
658.8	Consumer Behaviour
659	Advertising
700	Art
741	Illustration
741.6	Graphic Design
741.67	Advertising Art
770	Photography
791	Film & Animation
792	Performing Arts
792.068	Arts Management, Theory & Practice
808.02	Writing Techniques
900	History