Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AUB

Library Service changes : COVID-19

Library service

This page will be updated as advice changes so please keep checking for the latest information. 

The Library building and campus is open. 

Please see the University website for information about arrangements at AUB https://aub.ac.uk/coronavirus  

Library staff are available online to support you and our online collections are available 24/7. If you have questions about Library loans or access to resources please get in touch library@aub.ac.uk

 

In the Library building

  • NHS Test and Trace: Please remember to register your presence in the Library using the NHS app or the leaflets available when you enter the Library. Click here for information about the app.
  • Library opening hours have been extended for this term.  Click here to see our opening hours
  • Borrowing books and DVDs: We are now offering a limited number of Browse and Borrow slots as well as our Click and Collect service. For more information click here.
  • Returns: You no longer need to book an appointment to return items to the Library but you may be asked to queue outside if we have reached capacity. To check when your items are due for return log into your Library account. For more information click here
  • Provide access to the Materials Collection or Artist's book collections. Please e-mail library@aub.ac.uk if you would like to access these. 
  • Study Spaces: Study spaces for quiet individual study are available to book in the Library For more information click here.
  • Short videos: Click here to access short videos about Library changes including Click & Collect and Study Spaces. 
  • Laptop loans: You don't need to book to borrow a Laptop but you may need to queue. Laptop loans have been extended to 24 hours and you can now take them off campus. We ask you to clean the laptop before you return it to the locker. To avoid queuing unnecessarily you can check the availability of Laptops by clicking here.  You will need your ID card and PIN number to be able to borrow a Laptop. Click here for more information about Laptop loans
  • Access to printing and copying: You don't need to book to come in and print, photocopy or scan. We will have a queuing system in place. There will be a smaller number of printers available for you to use to allow social distancing. There will be instructions available for questions we get asked frequently and there will be limited staff support available. For the moment you won't be able to use acetate in the Library photocopiers. For more information about the printers and help for common issues click here
  • Access to the DS Servicedesk for IT queries and MoDiP by appointment.
    • Contact DS Servicedesk by e-mail first at servicedesk@aub.ac.uk. They will aim to solve your problem online initially and if you need to see them face-to-face they will book an appointment for you. 
    • Contact MoDiP by email modip@aub.ac.uk
  • Toilets on the ground floor are open for use. These are open on a one-in-one-out basis. Both the male and female toilets have 2 cubicles but only one person will be allowed in the room at a time. 

What the Library won't be able to do

We won't be able to provide some services for the moment. We will review this regularly and make changes if and when we can. The following services aren't available at the moment: 

Cash payments. In line with the University, we will not be taking cash in the Library. 

The little things. We won't be able to lend you the little things like pens, glue, rulers and headphones. We have also had to take away the cutting mats, staplers and paper clips. 

Tours or group visits. We won't be able to have groups of students or visitors doing activities in the Library. Unfortunately the need for social distancing means that we can't have groups of students in the Library. 

Scanning service

The Library is offering a scanning service for staff and students at AUB for materials that are only available in print / reference in our Library. 

The service has to comply with UK copyright law so there are some limitations on what we can copy and we can't make the service available to external members or alumni. 

We ask you to complete an online form providing as much detail as possible. We will then get in touch to let you know if we can provide the item. The scan will be sent to your AUB e-mail address in PDF format. Requests must be for individual use for study or research.  Click here to make a request

For academics who would like us to scan an item for a reading list please click here for more information. 

For more information about the service click here

Library services we will be providing online

Enquiries: Library staff are available to help you with questions about our information sources and services. E-mail the Library with your questions and we will get back to you as soon as possible: library@aub.ac.uk 

You can also contact your Subject Librarian for help finding or using our online collections. Click here for contact information

Short help videos: We have made a range of short help videos to support you whenever you need it. This includes using Library search, searching and using online resources, referencing and bibliography. Click here to access the videos. 

Online Library collections: The Library has a large online collection of resources to support you. This includes eBooks, journals, newspapers, streaming media (TV, films, theatre, animation, documentary, modelmaking), trend forecasting information and image databases. 

For a general overview, have a look at our Collections Page.

For subject-specific resources, have a look at your Subject Guide 

Personal safety

  • We require you to wear a face covering in the Library building unless you are exempt. This should be worn throughout your visit including when sat at a study desk. More information on face coverings is available on the Government website. Click here for more information.
  • Please sanitize your hands when you enter the building. There is hand sanitizer available as you come into the Library and at points within the space. 
  • We now have a one way system in place for access to the Lapsafe, printers and the upper floor.  For other areas we have a 'keep left' system. Please pay attention to barriers and signage to help you move around the space. When you enter the Library we will direct you to the relevant area.
  • We need to limit numbers of people in the Library to enable social distancing. For some services you will need to book ahead and for others we will have a queuing system in place. You may be asked to queue outside. Please observe social distancing. 
  • It is a requirement for the Library to comply with track and trace. We will now be using NHS track and Trace for all services. We will ask you to check in using the app on entry and we will have paper forms for those without the app. 

Borrowing from other libraries

  • You can now request Inter Library Loans for more information click here.
  • If you currently have an Inter-library loan these can be returned to us. 
  • SCONUL access scheme. This scheme has been suspended for the moment.