Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AUB

Library Service changes : COVID-19

Library service

This page will be updated as advice changes so please keep checking for the latest information. 

The Library is open and there are no restrictions in place. 

The University strongly encourages the wearing of masks in indoor spaces (unless medically exempt). Good hygiene practice is encouraged on campus. Please do not visit if you have symptoms of COVID-19. 

The Library is well ventilated and you may wish to bring extra layers to put on if you find it cold. 

You can see Library Opening Times here https://aub-uk.libguides.com/openingtimes

Please see the University website for information about arrangements at AUB https://aub.ac.uk/coronavirus  

 

In the Library building

AUB staff, students and alumni no longer need to book to access any of the Library collections or to use the study spaces. 

You can now browse the bookshelves, materials collection, artists' books, journals and DVDs. We ask you to sanitise your hands before you handle the collections and hand sanitiser is provided around the Library. 

  • Face coverings are encouraged in all indoor areas on campus (unless medically exempt).
  • Hand sanitiser stations are available throughout the Library and should be used frequently. 

The Library is staffed by Library staff 8.30am - 5pm each weekday and by a Security Guard during the evenings and weekends. Click here to see our opening hours. 

Laptop loans have returned to 4 hour loans and you can no longer take them off campus. You can check the availability of laptops by clicking here. You will need your ID card and your Library PIN number to borrow or return a laptop. Click here for more information about laptop loans

Printing, photocopying and scanning facilities are available. We have printed instructions available by the machines for frequently asked questions. We are no longer able to support acetate printing on the Library copiers. For more information about the printers and help with common issues click here.

DS Servicedesk are open for enquiries and to help with IT problems:

The Library toilets are open for use. Both the male and female toilets have 2 cubicles. 

MoDiP is open for research and to view the latest exhibition. For more information click here. 

Tours or group visits. We can now have small groups of students or visitors in the Library. 

Library services available online

Enquiries: Library staff are available to help you with questions about our information sources and services. You can ask in the Library or e-mail the Library with your questions and we will get back to you as soon as possible: library@aub.ac.uk 

You can also contact your Subject Librarian for help finding or using our online collections. Click here for contact information

Short help videos: We have made a range of short help videos to support you whenever you need it. This includes using Library search, searching and using online resources, referencing and bibliography. Click here to access the videos. 

Online Library collections: The Library has a large online collection of resources to support you. This includes eBooks, journals, newspapers, streaming media (TV, films, theatre, animation, documentary, modelmaking), trend forecasting information and image databases. 

For a general overview, have a look at our Collections Page.

For subject-specific resources, have a look at your Subject Guide

Borrowing from other libraries

  • You can now request Inter-library loans. For more information click here.
  • The SCONUL access scheme has now restarted. For more information click here