Library Search: Textiles: Home

On This Guide

Home
Introduction to support in the Library and how to find books and eBooks.

Scholarly Sources
Information about recommended academic journals and databases.

V isual Research
Magazines, image databases, video content and museum collections.

News, Trends & Industry
Trend forecasting publications and databases, plus industry news.

Sustainability Resources
Databases and tools for the study of sustainable fashion and textiles.

Course Reading Lists

Access your course reading lists online:

BA (Hons) Textiles

Symbols

Look for the symbols below to find books in the Library on Textiles

Featured Books

Finding Books & eBooks

Some books are only available as eBooks, so always search the Library Search Plus in addition to checking the shelves. eBooks are great because they let you search through the whole book for keywords, copy key quotes, and highlight or add notes against interesting passages as you read.

eBooks are also available through databases, which you can search separately:

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
In addition to providing access to over 100 books on various aspects of fashion, the Berg Fashion Library contains the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, Classic and Modern Writings on Fashion, an A-Z of Fashion and The Dictionary of Fashion History, listings of dress collections in museums around the world, images from historic exhibitions from museums around the world, and a collection of over 15,000 images.
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is a comprehensive resource offering instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines.
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of over 100,000 e-books which covers a wide range of subjects including anthropology, art and design, cultural studies, drama, history, music, philosophy, psychology, religion and technology.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBooks is a collection of encyclopedias and specialized reference books which focuses on literature and history, with smaller collections in the areas of drama, business, science and religion.

MetPublications
Free eBook collection from the Met Costume Institute, available to download or read online.

The Library has access to thousands of books, both in print and online.

To find a book in the library, first search the Library Catalogue. This will give you an idea about the range of books on a topic, as well as information about where you can find a book on the shelf.

Click here to browse the newest print books in the Textiles collection.

When searching for print books in the Library, the following numbers can be helpful in locating particular subject areas.

646	Fashion and Fashion Designers
646.01	Fashion Theory
646.02	Fashion Industry
646.06	Fashion Forecasting, Marketing & Merchandising
646.07	Sustainable Fashion
646.09	Fashion History
746	Textiles
746.01	Textiles Theory
746.02	Digital Textile Design
746.04	Fabrics Science & Technology
746.09	Textiles History
746.43	Knitting
746.44	Embroidery
746.6	Textiles Dyes and Printing
747.2	Interior Decoration
909	World History