Skip to main content AUB

New Temporary Online Resources: Home

As a result of the COVID-19 outbreak and campus closures a number of publishers have made online resources temporarily available to universities. Below is a list of resources that you may find useful. This page will be updated as more resources become available. (Scroll down for more information about each resource, including how long access is available)‚Äč

About the resources

Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts is a comprehensive resource offering instant, searchable access to over 170 books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines. It is an essential resource for students and educators globally, working across multiple fields of practice - Access is available until 30 June 2020.

 

Bloomsbury Collections delivers instant access to quality research and provides libraries with a flexible way to build eBook collections across the humanities and social sciences. It contains over 6,000 titles, featuring content from Bloomsbury’s latest research publications as well as a 100+ year legacy including Continuum, T&T Clark, Bristol Classical Press, Berg, The Arden Shakespeare and Hart Publishing - Access is available until 30 June 2020.

 

Bloomsbury Design Library provides cutting-edge scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It offers an expanding range of authoritative reference and book content, alongside a rich selection of museum object images, which are fully searchable and underpinned by an intuitive taxonomy for seamless navigation - Access is available until 30 June 2020.

 

The Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive documents fashion’s most spectacular era, from 1979 to 2003. The videos are accompanied by exclusive scholarly articles that provide essential context to the collection, shedding light on key shows, the evolution of trends, iconic designers, and the transformation of runway spectacles to performance art - Access is available until 30 June 2020.

 

EBSCO Academic eBook Subscription Collection is a multidisciplinary collection including more than 190,000 eBooks covering a large selection of academic subjects and features eBooks from leading publishers and university presses. - Access is available until 30 June 2020.

 

Fairchild Books Library provides content that covers a full spectrum of topics in fashion including construction, draping, fashion business management, history, illustration, journalism, marketing, promotion, theory, pattern making, styling, product development, sustainable fashion, textiles, and more. It features full-text versions from the world’s leading higher education fashion textbook publisher, Fairchild Books - Access is available until 30 June 2020.

 

Harvard Business Publishing eBook Collection. This ground-breaking collection includes the complete catalog of e-books published by Harvard Business Review Press. Access more than 600 e-books including 400+ monographs plus both new and seminal works along with 150+ article compilations with foundational articles included in the HBR Classics series - Access is available until 30 May 2020.

 

The RSC Live Collection launched on Drama Online with 17 films of live productions from the Royal Shakespeare Company performed between 2013 and 2017. These included the cutting-edge 2016-17 production of The Tempest starring Simon Russell Beale. A further 8 films of productions performed in 2018 and 2019, including Twelfth Night starring comedy icon Adrian Edmondson, were added in 2019 and 2020 - Access is available until 30 June 2020

 

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels Series is the first-ever scholarly online collection for researchers and students of adult comic books and graphic novels. This multi-part resource covers the full spectrum of this visual art form, from pre-comics code era works to modern sequential releases from artists the world over. Volume I covers major works from north America and Europe, beginning with the first underground comix from the 1950s and continuing through to modern sequential artists. Volume II also contains tens of thousands of pages of non-mainstream, post-code comics and secondary materials from around the world - Access is available until 30 May 2020.